And so it begins…

Standard

Everyone keeps asking about my vacation. And I just sort of laugh and say, well, it was more an adventure than a vacation. I worked most of the time I was there. And it wasn’t quite what we’d expected. Billed as a mansion by the sea — that part was true. Except the mansion didn’t have screens on the windows or air conditioning. Still, who complains when they look out and see the most beautiful water and beaches — ever? 

A Diva like me. Don’t get me wrong. Every morning I woke up excited about the new day. I sat out on the back veranda facing the sea with my lap top and wrote and edited. Inspirational? Absolutely. I swam every day in the infinity pool that looked out over the ocean. You heard me right. I exercised. 

I hung out with amazing people and ate great food cooked by a chef. No complaints there. 

But it was the nights that were terrifying. I never knew when a spider, the size of my hand, or crab, frog or other critter might show up in my second story room. I even tried closing the shutters and they still got in. And it was really, really hot. I’m a girl from Texas. I like my air conditioning. The mosquito netting was so tight, necessary with all the bugs, that the air from the ceiling fan couldn’t get thru. The last few days I sprayed myself with Deet and slept crosswise at the end of the bed, so I could feel the air moving. 

I call it character building.

The best part? I went down there to do research on a book and it practically wrote itself with all the crazy things that happen. And the people I was hanging with, well, we will forever be bonded together. We fought the elements and we won. Did I mention a tropical storm hit the day we arrived? I loved the Dominican Republic. The people there are amazing. They love Americans. And they are just lovely human beings. That said, I’ll need to do some forgetting before I go back. :) 

I’m back in the U.S. at the Television Critics’ press tour. People are already cranky about last minute changes, and as president of the association I get to hear it all. But I don’t care. I’m in a high-rise hotel, with air conditioning, far, far, far away from nature in Beverly Hills. 

It took me 23 years to take that vacation. I think I’m done with those for awhile. :) 

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. It will forever be referred to as Survivor Entangled: The Diva Edition. ; ) But at least I had such wonderful company!!! Miss you already!

Leave a Reply

