Zen Me

Standard

I’m teaching a free workshop about Writing Zen (you can find that on my website http://www.candacehavens.com). It’s about clearing the decks and making a creative space for yourself in the world.  That’s a journey I began about six months ago when I realized that I hated my workspace. It’s been transformed into a place where I love to create. A space that makes me smile every time I walk in the room. 

So, I’ve decided to take those elements that I teach in the class and apply them to all aspects of my life. I had a seriously crap week. From finding out that a family member I adore has some wicked nasty cancer (all cancer is nasty, some more than others), to two different work situations where I had to stand up for someone I believed in — me. By Wednesday I couldn’t keep any food down and I was so tied up in knots it was ridiculous. I think my husband came in and said, “Hi,” and I started bawling. I won’t go into specifics, because all of that is in the past. 

And then I remembered a goal I made about a month ago.

That when things got tough, I’d get Zen.

I’d work on creative projects and things that brought me joy. I could read, crochet, knit, write, paint, whatever I wanted for 24 hours. Even sleep.

So far this year I’ve had the flu twice, food poisoning and three sinus infections. Oh, and I got so sick with the flu when I was in Colorado that I gave myself a hernia. Sigh. So I’ve decided that I need more Zen, more positive energy in all aspects of my life. I need to re-build my immune system through diet, exercise and possibly some vitamins. I need to create work environments where I’m doing what I love, and only what I love. I need to makeover my house to make it a sanctuary. And I need to makeover me. 

As the lovely Rachel Zoe says, Major. 

I’m new to all of this. Taking care of myself. And I only hope I’m not too late. 

I preach, especially about writing, to make it happen. Sometimes to be Zen, you have to work your ass off. Sometimes you have to be quite and rest. Sometimes you have to bring joy into your life. Sometimes you have to let go. 

So if you see me crocheting, taking French Lessons, knitting, redecorating… I’m not being lazy. I’m getting Zen. :) 

I’ll be doing a lot of letting go over the next few months, but I’ll also be venturing into new and exciting worlds. Ons that I’m passionate about. Ones that will feed my Zen. :) 

So tell me… How do you get your Zen on?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

