Good Morning!

Standard

Hey Gang, We had a lovely holiday at the Havens house. We hosted a big Christmas Eve party with family from both sides and a few friends. We ate Mexican food, sang carols and opened a few presents.

The next morning the kids, the hub and I opened presents. My husband tricked me this year and it worked. On Christmas morning he gave me some prints of Paris I had coveted at one of the many antique stores we've visited the last few months. I was so surprised that he had remembered. And I absolutely loved the prints. But I have to admit I was a little surprised. My selfish, spoiled self was like, "He bought that giant red truck, and I get a couple of prints?" I know. I'm terrible. But I didn't say it out loud. Well, until today.

Christmas Day dinner was at my husband's sister's house, which is just a few blocks away. Before the meal began, my husband told me he wanted me to go upstairs to see something one of the nephews got for Christmas. I followed him up, and there it was, the chest I'd been wanting for my office. It had been in the same booth as the prints. I'm posting pictures of both gifts below. And he actually said, "I bet you were thinking he got that big truck and all I got was a couple of prints." LOL. Does that man know me or what?

Have you received a wonderful or fun gift for the holidays? I want to hear about it.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. Wow–the chest is gorgeous! And the prints are lovely too. (I thought for a minute there that you were going to say he got you a trip to Paris… Maybe next year.)

    I had a friend who is a potter who figured out (not without difficulty) how to take a wine glass, put it in the kiln at low temp, and burn a printing of one of my book cover copies onto it. It is cool…plus she gave me all the melted failures as a conversation piece :-) I’ll have to do a blog post about it. You know–once I’ve recovered :-)

    Happy holidays, and I’m glad that Santa was good to you!

Leave a Reply

