If You Can’t Say Anything Nice…

Standard

I'm a native Texan. We are friendly bunch. I try to be nice, even to the people I don't really like. Bless their hearts.

But I've really had my fill of mean and stupid people. And they seem to come in all shapes and sizes these days. Sometimes it's political propaganda in an email spouting hate. Other times authors are bad mouthing other authors. Sometimes it's people who haven't even read a book, writing cruel reviews and spoilers on Amazon or other book sites.

I would block the emails, but unfortunately the majority of them come from my husband's side of the family and I worry that I might not get something important. I wish, just once, they would check their facts before sending or forwarding an email. It would save me a lot of grief. Or better yet, maybe they could just take me off of their lists.

As for the reviews, I do my best not to read them if they are about my books. But when they pick on my friends or favorite authors, I can't help but get involved. I'm offended when I see other authors or editors knocking books. I mean, they KNOW how tough it is to make it in this business. Not everything is everyone's cup of tea. You negative ninnies need to stop and think about what you are doing. There is this word "karma" that is going to bite you in the ass one day, and the meaner you are, the worse it is going to be.

Our business is changing faster than anyone could have anticipated and we should be lifting one another up not dragging each other down. I'm lucky that I've surrounded myself with great friends in all areas of my life. And even luckier that my author friends feel the same way I do. People such as Barbara Vey at Publisher's Weekly, Sue Grimshaw at Ballantine and Sara Reyes at Fresh Fiction are great examples of people who support the authors they love. We need more people like them. People who celebrate the business we are in.

The world is crazy and kind of sad right now. Call me a Pollyanna, I can take it. But maybe we could just be kinder to one another. In the world of publishing, maybe we could walk in another author's shoes for a bit.

I'm going to give you a chance today to spread some kindness. Say something nice about a book you just read or tell us a story about someone who has done something nice for you.

-Candy Havens
Model Marine (In Stores Now)
Spirited (Coming Soon)
Truth and Dare

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Being Nice

    Thanks for this. More people in the industry need to hear this. There is enough room for everyone here. Support one another! Don’t tear each other down. Look at the long term. What goes around often comes back to bite you. I love authors and books. I don’t read everything, but I won’t tear something apart because I don’t read it.

  2. New Authors

    I know LOADS of authors and I don’t always get time to read their books, but when I get to read a new book by someone I know and I love it, it tickles the hell out of me. I just finished Sophie Oak’s first four Bliss books. I worried that it wouldn’t be my cup of tea, but wow, that woman can write and she sucked me in on page one of the first book, drove me to the internet store and had me buying the rest. I literally couldn’t put them down. Was I reading outside of my comfort zone? Yep. Was I happy as heck that I did? Yep.

  3. Candy, you are such a nice and special person!! I have just discovered the Mary Russell books by Laurie R. King and they are great fun. And as always, I’m am looking forward to you new book! Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

