This Thing Called Life

Standard

I feel kind of bad about some things. Stuff that has fallen through the cracks. Books I promised to read for friends. Books I promised my agent I would revise and send. People sending me pages right and left to look at.

But the truth is, a person can only do so much. I try to be accommodating, I think more than most authors. But even I have limits. So I’m sorry if I owe you something. I have a life and it’s a chaotic, crazy fun one.

I’m in Grad school, which always takes more time than I expect. When I took these particular classes, which are film centric, I didn’t expect to be reading 300 pages of academic text as well as one to two books a week for school, and writing papers every week for both classes. When I came back from press tour in Los Angeles in January, I wasn’t expecting to be hit with mono — again. I wasn’t expecting to receive 10 or so RITA books to read. I wasn’t expecting to get hit with the flu and bacterial infection at the same time. And in between all that I’ve had conferences (that were booked a year in advance) every other weekend. I’ve been teaching an intense workshop where I have to read the first 10 pages of every student’s manuscript. I have to hit two or three films a week in Dallas for the day job. And I do have a “real” day job where I’m still writing three columns/cover stories a week.

That doesn’t mean I don’t love and adore you. I do. I promise. But if something is really important to you, you have to send me reminders. And even then do so with the understanding that I live with daily priorities and deadlines that have to be met every single day.

Let me give you an example. Had to run my niece to school. I had to finishing editing my stories for this week and get them on the server. Then I have to edit co-worker’s stories. I had to go to doc to get a shot. Had to rush some of my books to my agent. Pick up a prescription. Get a birthday card for nephew. Read three of my student’s first 10 pages and respond to questions from one of my professors for a project. That was before 11 am this morning. When I finish this, I have to do my AFS for Harlequin on my Marine book, write at least 20 pages of a book that is due in a month. I have to do all that by 4 p.m. because I have to drive two hours to go see Red Riding Hood. Then I have to come home around 11 and figure out how in the heck to organize a ppt. presentation for school on reluctant mothers in science fiction, and figure out how to write the 15 page paper that goes with it. Oh, and I need to finish my review of A Philadelphia Story.

That’s an average day for me, and I do it seven days a week. I’m not complaining. I LOVE my life. I’m certainly never bored.

But I want you to understand that if I forget stuff, it isn’t personal. :) I heart you, I do. I’m just really, really busy.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. “Charmed”

    Take a breath! I just picked up one of your “Charmed” books while on vacation and really enjoyed it as a light read. No offense, but those are needed and enjoyed by us avid readers (I train commute to work) in-between some deeper and hard to stay with reads. Regrettably my library doesn’t carry your books – at least the ones I was searching for – so my quest is to catch up.

    Thanks for your stories.
    -Lois

  2. hello my name is Anita & I was in the hospital for a month & a friend found two of your books I think there older writing but I can’t find the third one in the series’s I’m hoping you can tell me so I can finish the series I did very much ready about the good witch & Sam I have to find this book charmed & deadly I believe that’s the one. If you could please tell me were I can find it I live in harleysville Pa.

Leave a Reply

