What I’ve added to the DVR

Standard

While this season isn’t quite as strong as last fall with the new series, there are some you should check out. I’m going to give you a day-by-day account about what I’m putting on my DVR and why. There were so many shows on nights where I have “fan girl” series, that I had to get another DVR. LOL. Well, it is for the day job too. :) I have to keep up with all this stuff. I’m doing Monday – Wednesday here, and then Thursday I’ll have the rest on the Genreality blog.

Monday
In addition to Chuck and Castle, I’ve added the new series Chase (NBC), The Event (NBC), Hawaii Five-O (CBS), Mike & Molly (CBS) and Lonestar (Fox). I liked the paranormal aspect of The Event, but if they don’t start explaining stuff fast, I’ll be out of there. I really liked the high-octane action of Hawaii Five-O and I think this is one my kids will like too. I was one of the few critics who liked Chase, but this tough female Marshall is fun to watch. I think Mike & Molly has the potential of being another Big Bang Theory for me, so I’m going to give it a few episodes, even though the pilot was far from perfect. Now Lonestar is a show I SHOULD like, but I couldn’t get into it at first. I feel bad because it’s produced locally, so I’m going to give it some more chances. I LOVE James Wolk, but his character being married and having a girlfriend is too much for me to forgive. Still, I’ll watch a few more, though after last nights ratings I wonder how long it will be around.

Tuesday
In addition to Glee (Holy cow, this one starts out strong this season!) and Parenthood (You so should be watching this show) I’ve added Running Wilde and Raising Hope from Fox. To be honest I wasn’t a huge fan of the Fox pilots, though I haven’t watched the re-worked Running Wilde pilot, but both of these shows had enough laughs that I’ll check them out again. I couldn’t get into Detroit 1-8-7. It was just another cop show to me and kind of generic. I wish they’d move some of my other favorites to Tuesday. It would make life so much easier. Oh, but do love No Ordinary Family about the family of accidental superheroes on ABC. You definitely need to check that one out. It has a late debut on Tuesday, Sept. 28.

Wednesday is all about the fun. In addition to Cougartown (This is the funniest show on television)and Modern Family, I’ve added Undercovers (NBC), Better With You (ABC) and The Defenders (ABC). I LOVE J.J. Abrams’ Undercovers, it’s one of my favorite shows of the new season. You guys know how I love my spies, and these are some sexy ones. It’s just a fun little show. Better with You is funny and cute, and has a terrific cast. It goes along well with those other Wed. night comedies. And even though I’m sort of done with law shows I’m giving “The Defenders” a chance. Jim Belushi and Jerry O’Connell make this more of a buddy show than a law show, and it’s quirky fun. I can’t say the same about Rob Morrow and Maura Tierney’s new law show The Whole Truth. Except for the fact it shows at the end whether or not the person was really guilty, there just was a lot new here for me. And it’s a show that takes itself a little to seriously. Oh, and it’s been on the air a couple of weeks, but you are missing out if you aren’t watching Terriers on FX. That Donal Logue is something else. Hellcats didn’t hold my interest, but Bring it On fans will find it fun.

So that’s it for the first three days of the week. As I mentioned I’ll be chatting about Thursday, Friday and Sunday on Thursday at http://www.genreality.net

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

  1. The Dare

    I was a Senior in high school and like most I had to take Algebra-which I very much hated and sucked at. One of my best friends was a guy named Mike. Now I had just gotten out of a real rank relationship and wasn’t looking for another one-but I kept hearing that Mike had a thing for me. I shrugged it off. Then one day, my best friend Heather dared me to sit with him at lunch. I did-I mean me and Mike were good friends and so what? Well I sat with him at lunch but couldn’t say a word. How did this dare work out for me?

    Well eventually we gave “us” a shot and we’ve been married for 16 years.

    THE TATTOO-Well it’s a real toss up ya know…one hand I wouldn’t mind having something artistic on my shoulder but I’m leaning towards my kid’s name on my butt cheeks since they are my favorite pains in that region.

Leave a Reply

