TV Critics Press Tour

Standard

So I’ve been in L.A. a week covering the television critics press tour. That’s where reporters from all over the U.S. and Canada come together for a couple of weeks to cover all the new and returning television shows for the fall.

The last few days we’ve talked to the actors/writers/producers from CBS, Showtime, the CW, NBC and today ABC. It’s been a fruitful tour with tons of great interviews.

Last night was our TCA Awards. It was the first time I was responsible for putting the show together. I did it with the help of some really great people in including our publicist Cindy Ronzoni and AV guru Dave Taylor. Oh, and that president of ours, Susan Young, was kind of helpful too. :)

While I would have never admitted it before hand. I’ve been under incredible pressure to make sure everything went well. The talent from the shows had to be there. I needed my presenters giving the awards to have great speeches. And they did.

We had the majority of the Glee (Outstanding New Program, Program of the Year) and Modern Family (Outstanding comedy) casts. We also had many from Lost and Breaking Bad who tied for our Drama Category. We gave the career achievement award to James Garner and the Heritage award to M*A*S*H (the producers and a couple of the actors were here). The Pacific was honored as was Life.

I had the opportunity to give the award for Outstanding New Program to Glee. In my speech I told the story about Parker sending me a text his first semester of school saying “You’re never going to believe what happened.” It was several hours later before he told me they shut down rehearsals early so they could go watch Glee.

The great thing was that many of the actors and producers after the show made a point to tell Parker, who was here with me, to never do that to his mother again. I think the highlight for him was when Tom Hanks put his hand on Parker’s shoulder and said, “Call your mother.” It was fun to introduce him to the people he watches on television. They all thought he was perfectly lovely. And it was fun to not be so jaded for once and to see this crazy world I live in through his eyes.

He also had fun chatting with the Glee cast. Cory Monteith told him that he always worried that people who are really talented like Parker would hate him because while he has talent, it was more luck than anything. How sweet is that? Of course we all know how talented Cory is, but it was nice of him to say.

I have to admit, I’m much relieved that the awards are over. We have another full week ahead with ABC today, and then Fox, PBS and Cable. If you’re interested in who is here and what they are doing you can follow me on Twitter or Facebook. :)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. Wow–I knew you went to these things, but I had no idea you were IN CHARGE. How in earth do you do it?
    And I’m so glad Parker was able to go with you. I remember his fabulous GLEE audition. Maybe they’ll remember him next time :-)
    Hang in there, and have a great time!

  2. Research Term Papers

    I found this informative and interesting blog so i think so its very useful and knowledge able.I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article.

    Term Papers

Leave a Reply

