Press Tour Day Four

Standard

I can’t remember what happened this morning so I’m skipping straight the set visits this afternoon.

First up was Three Rivers the new Alex O’Loughlin series. The show is set in Pittsburgh, but is being filmed on the Paramount lot. The set is huge and very hi-tech with gadgets and flat screens everywhere. I’ll post pics later, but it’s the nicest hospital set I’ve ever been on. Very clean and pretty. I joked I thought I could live there. Alex and the gang were funny, and he slipped into that lovely accent of his, which I adore. He plays transplant surgeon who is the lead of an elite team. Also starring are Katherine Moenning, Daniel Henney, Christopher Hanke and Alfre Woodard. Not one question was asked during the session about Moonlight, and I for one, was most grateful. Now maybe fans of that show, and yes I was one, can move on. :-)

Next was the new show NCIS: Los Angeles. I’m not super familiar with the original NCIS, but I like the people on this new one a lot. It stars Chris O’Donnell, LL Cool J, Linda Hunt, Peter Cambor, Adam Jamal Craig and Rocky Carroll. I’m a big fan of most of these people, but especially of Hunt. She’s just one of the kindest people you will ever meet, and a lovely actress. She’d won over LL and Chris. In fact she told a great story about not being able to remember the names of the components of a cell phone. It was a pretty involved list and she’d made herself a cheat sheet. She was worried about it, and Chris took the list and taped it to his chest. His back was to the camera so it worked out great. If the show works the way these people do together it has a chance of real success. There will also be some crossover from the other NCIS, so that will be fun for fans of both shows. Funny little side note. I noticed Adam’s t-shirt which was one of those three wolf and moon shirts. I wondered if it was given to him by the wardrobe dept. so I had to ask. He said the shirt was his, and then went on to explain to the crowd about it’s mystical powers. I just thought it was cool that he was wearing it. I didn’t think that many people knew about the shirt. :0) Oh, and the set has been made to look like an old mission and is very eclectic. I definitely would want to live there, even though it’s an office. :)

Then we were off to Fox lot and the set of Bones. It seemed strange after all these years that we’d never been there. We ended up in the FBI offices where Booth (David Boreanaz) spends a lot of his time. Emily and David were there with the exec producers and chatted a lot about the chemistry. There was some guff about Hart putting them together last season, but it not being real. Some folks took issue with that. I don’t want them together. It will ruin everything. When the show returns, Booth will still be trying to recover some of his memories. Emily says you’ll see that what he’s gone through has sort of affected them both. David is still on baby watch in real life, and he seemed distracted at best. They were filming on the main set, so we didn’t get to see that, but I really wanted to. I was kind of tired by this time, so I’m having trouble remember details about what they talked about. I’ll have to look over the transcript and let you know later. I can tell you the FBI offices, look like every other government office I’ve been in. Kind of dingy and old. :-)

Back to the Dollhouse set we went. We were there last summer, but they had even more furniture and stuff this time. It’s a big two story facility with cool rooms everywhere you look. Joss and the gang were seated over the pond in the center of the set. The whole gang was there. Joss talked about the many difficulties he had last season in pulling the show together. He explained that he now knew what they had to do. The show will have a much different feel. I will honestly have to look at the transcript to give you more details, but I can remember the answer to my question. I asked the cast if they felt like this first episode of the new season, that they’d just about wrapped, was different. The general consensus was yes. Tahmoh said that we would be surprised by what we saw, and that he felt really good about it. The other actors pretty much said the same thing. And I must take a moment to mention that Tahmoh is one fine looking male. Just sayin’. :-)

I promise I’ll post more details later. It was a great day, but I’m wiped out!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. Thank You

    Hi ;)
    Thanks for sharing.
    What a wonderful day you must have had.
    I admit I am vicariously thrilled by your posts.
    :)
    Love and all the best,
    twitter.com/RKCharron
    xoxo

  2. Oh, my gosh — Alex O’Laughlin, David Boreanaz and Joss Whedon all in one day?!? They would have to bring me to the hospital for heart failure! :)
    What a day! Thanks for your posts; I’m really enjoying them.

Leave a Reply

