Press Tour Day One

Standard

I’m out here in Pasadena covering the new TV season at the TCA (Television Critics Association) press tour. We do this twice a year in Jan. and July where we talk to the actors, producers and writers from all the new and returning shows. It’s two intense weeks were we all have unprecedented access to the people in the TV biz.

So each day I’ll try to post about who I saw, and anything fun that might have happened. I’m also tweeting throughout the day and open it up so you can ask questions as various stars take the stage. You can keep up with that on twitter.com/candacehavens or on facebook. Just a reminder that I’m usually typing these blogs late at night so there may be even more typos than usual.

Today was day one, and it began with a presentation of the TV Academy’s Foundation Archive of American Television. It was a blessedly short presentation and I know it sounds kind of boring but it isn’t. Basically, beginning Sept. 1, you’ll be able to visit emmytvlegends.org and see amazing interviews with some of television movers and shakers from the past and present. These are really indepth interviews with everyone from Walter Cronkite to Carol Burnett to William Shatner. Cool stuff.

Then Adam Richman was hear with Man vs Food. I have to admit I’m not super familiar with the show, but I liked him and will check out the new season which begins Aug. 5. I don’t get people who eat things so hot they cry, but evidently it makes for good television. And I’m all about finding those great diners and eateries around the country.

Fox Reality had the lunch presention where we met Hollywood Househusbands, most of whom are actors. The wives were also here and the session was more interesting than I thought it would be. I was truly inspired by men who do dishes and laundry. Mine does garbage and yardwork, but I’m wondering if he can be trained to try something new after all this time.

Joy Behar (The View) was here to plug her new show on HLN. She says it’s her chance to finally get a word in about topics she’s interested in.

John King, Christiane Amanpour and Soledad O’Brien were here to talk about the new things they’re working on with CNN. Amanpour’s Generation Islam could possibly open a lot of eyes in this country if given a chance. I liked listening in on King’s stories about Obama, O’Brien has a new documentary Latino in America that is absolutely fascinating. One story gave me an idea for a book that she talked about, but that’s a whole different conversation…

I think the room was a little tired, or maybe it’s because we’d already written about Dark Blue but there wasn’t a lot of excitement in the room for Dylan McDermott, Jerry Bruckheimer and the gang. I know it’s a good show, I just can’t get into it. I need characters I really care about, and I just can’t find that connection.

I did enjoy George Lopes who has a new latenight show coming in November. We’re a tough room of critics but he got a few laughs. He’s offering something a little different for the late night scene, and I hope he succeeds. Lopez Tonight will be on TBS.

Tonight’s party was sponsored by AMC. Cast members from Mad Men, Breaking Bad, The Prisoner, Rubicon, and other AMC shows were there. Had some face time with a lot of the Mad Men cast, and only drooled slightly on Jon Hamm.

It would be very easy to hate the lovely January Jones, if she wasn’t so darn sweet. She told us a story about how she keeps getting into trouble for being too skinny. She tries to gain weight but can’t. Wait, we do hate her… kidding… Sort of…

Tomorrow is a very full day with everyone from Matt Damon to NASA scientists. Oh, and shark people. I love sharks. The guys from Rescue Ink are here. Some of them are staying down the hall from me, and they are so sweet. Very polite, hold the elevator kind of guys with more tatoos than I’ve ever seen in my life.

I’m thinking about getting a tatoo, but there’s so much pressure in finding just the right thing.

:)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

  1. Sounds like you had a crazy busy day, but fun! I’m so jealous you get to see Matt Damon tomorrow. :) And Man v. Food is a great show–very addictive.

Leave a Reply

