Tranquility, Oh and Winners

Standard

How are you guys doing? I finally turned in my first Blaze book, and I’m a little nervous. I really want her to like it. I absolutely feel in love with my hero, Jackson, and I hope my editor does too. :-) It’s been a crazy, busy time the last month. I feel like I’m just now getting my head above waters.

I’ve been suffering from the if it’s not one thing, it’s another, syndrome. But when I look around I see that I am not alone. And I’m telling you if I hear the ‘E’ word again and how we’re in the new Great D, my head is going to explode. It seems like everyone I know is going through something.

SO… This weekend I wanted to open up the blog and talk about what brings you peace and harmony? What can get you in that tranquil state where your shoulders drop and your chest doesn’t feel so tight?

I’m trying some new things and remembering to do some of the old ones. My newest one is playing Animal Crossing on Wii. My kids think it’s the lamest game ever, but it’s relaxing for me. And fun. I mean come on, where else can you wear a tiara, while you’re making $20,000 a day fishing? I meet interesting new people and have even been known to play hide and seek. ;-)

I’m also doing my Wii exercise yoga and playing the balance game. My goal this week is to try the walking game. I’ll let you know how that goes. The Wii stuff is not like “real” exercise but it still gets my heart rate up.

I’m taking hot, soaking baths in epsom salts, while I play my hand held Yahtzee. It’s a great way to check out for half an hour. And I’m reading a lot on the Kindle.

Oh, and I found a new game on yahoo games, the Fish game. That’s another way to give my mind a break from troubles, though I have to give myself time limits when I play. :-)

I’m sure I do more than this, but it’s all I can think of on this cold Saturday morning.

So how about you? What do you do to bring peace to your life? Or how do you check out with mind candy?

THE WINNER

Mippy Carlson is the first winner of the CCing contest. That’s where you send the message about how your friend Candace Havens has a new book out, The Demon King and I, and you cc me with your friends’ email addresses.

I say first winner because I’m going to continue the contest. There are all kinds of prizes. Mindy is winning a gift certificate from Amazon.

As soon as we get the pictures posted on the website, we’ll also announce the winner of that contest. Again, we had such a great response we’re going to keep going with that too.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. I think one of the best ways that I bring peace to my life is when I hang out with my friends and loved ones. If I can’t do that then I do a lot of reading. Most recently by reading Charmed and Deadly. (Great book BTW.) Though I do other stuff as well.

  2. Hmm…you mean other than reading?
    I like to garden, when it is the season. I find it very soothing to sit outside, listen to the frogs in the pond (maybe have a bit of a chat) and play in the dirt. Going for a walk, or doing a bit of tai chi can help me unwind. A bowl of organic popcorn with butter and a glass of wine in front of a good romantic comedy…
    Petting my cats can be therapeutic (for everyone concerned, one hopes). And yes, a hot bath can be wonderful (although now that I am playing “fun with hot flashes” it isn’t always as restful as it used to be). I used to love to zone out with computer games, but now that I am writing so much I have some RSI issues and have to save my arms for typing! (Although I’m going to check out fish–you evil thing.)

    Glad to hear you are finally able to come up for air! I’m sure your new editor will love, love, love the new book. I’m about ready to go into “Revision Hell” mode with King Me!, my second ms. Oh, joy. Now where did I put the epsom salts?

  3. To relax? Well, I don’t relax very well. *G* But, I love my Yoga classes and always leave feeling peaceful. I also have Zuma on my cell phone and play that at bedtime to blank my mind a bit so I can sleep. *G* Of course there’s also reading….
    -Brandy

  4. My best way to relax is with a book. I’m also finding surfing the web relaxing. I am seriously concidering getting a Wii. You commented on it getting up your heart rate. Do you have the Wii Fit? Is that where you get the yoga and balance board? I’m so hopeless with this stuff!

Leave a Reply

