TV Thoughts

Standard

I don’t know about you, but some of my favorite shows are sadly lacking in the content department. Silly me thought the writer’s strike last year would actually give writer’s time to regroup an refresh. I was looking forward to this year’s TV bonanza where everyone came back with fresh ideas from their long rest.

It didn’t happen.

There are some exceptions. “Lost,” “Damages,” “Reaper,” “Breaking Bad,” “Chuck” “The Sarah Connor Chronicles” (Yes, I’m still into this show. It’s much more clever than people give it credit.) are shows that continue to mix things up and I can’t wait for the next episode. But those shows are few and far between. I knew the TV world was in trouble when I noted one week that “The Biggest Loser” was the best drama I’d seen in awhile.

But there is hope. I’m discovering a wealth of innovative and fresh, original programming online. From Joss Whedon’s “Dr. Horrible,” to Ed Brubaker’s “Angel of Death” (crackle.com) there are some cool choices for those willing to do a little surfing. Crackle.com as some great comedies too from David Faustino’s “Star-ving,” which sometimes makes me cringe, but always makes me laugh, to “Anytime with Bob Kushell,” which is the most entertaining talk show I’ve seen in awhile.

While I had a hard time getting into TheWB.com series “Sorority Forever,” I’m totally enamored with it’s new show “Rockville CA.” These short dramatic bites are entertaining, the music is beyond awesome, and I always look forward to what’s next. I feel the same way about Rosario Dawson’s Gemini Division (geminidivision.com), and I’m a big fan of Ashton Kutcher’s “Blah Girls” (blahgirls.com). The best thing about these webisodes is there’s not a lot of commitment and it’s easy to catch up and watch them in bulk.

So what do you watch online? Check out some of my favorites and tell me what you think.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

  1. I don’t watch shows online very often. It sounds as though I may need to change that! I do like the new series Castle on ABC,Life on NBC, The Mentalist on CBS and Eleventh Hour on CBS, though!
    -Brandy

Leave a Reply

