The Oscars

Standard

I love the Oscars! I love sitting on my couch with my favorite snacks from about 3 p.m. on watching the fashions and later the actual broadcast. It’s one of my happiest days of the year. Everyone always asks why I don’t go… Simple answer: If you’re in the press room it sucks. You’re stuck with a bunch of reporters asking not-so great questions. I’d rather sit on my couch, thanks. In my PJs, watching along with the rest of the world. :-)

Soooo…. I’ve never done this before on the blogs, but I’m going to share my picks this year. I’m so excited because anything could happen this year. I mean it, there will be upsets. Here we go…

Best Supporting Actor: There are some incredibly talented men in this category. The odds favorite is Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight), they honored him with the SAG, and I think he has a good chance of taking it away. He’s also my pick for this category. But I don’t think it’s as sewn up as everyone thinks. You also have Josh Brolin (Milk), Robert Downey Jr (Tropic Thunder), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt) and Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road). Brolin has really picked up some buzz the last few weeks, as has Shannon, and you can’t discount Seymour Hoffman. People in Hollywood love that guy.

Best Supporting Actress: This one is a real toss up. You have Amy Adams (Doubt), Penelope Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona), Viola Davis (Doubt), Taraji P. Henson (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), and Marisa Tomei (The Wrestler). Davis has a lot of buzz going into this, but so does Tomei. I’ve joked that Tomei should win just for having such an incredible bod, goodness. I want to trade. I’m going with Davis. But I’m telling you, anyone can win.

Best Actress: Oh, this is such a fun one. Anne Hathaway (Rachel’s Getting Married) gave one of my favorite performances of the year. And this was one of my favorite films, but I don’t think she has much of a chance. She had all the buzz in the fall, but then these other contenders entered the ring. (Should have saved that for my Wrestler stuff). There’s Angelina Jolie (Changeling), Melissa Leo (Frozen River), Meryl Streep (Doubt) and Kate Winslet (The Reader). If you haven’t seen Frozen River, you need to. Leo gives an amazing performance. But I think the race is between Streep and Winslet. Both of them won SAG’s, Winslet for Best Supporting Actress. I think you’re pretty safe with either of these, but Winslet has the most buzz so I’ll pick her.

Best Actor: I thought Frank Langella was amazing in Frost/Nixon, again one of my top three films of the year. But this is one tough category. You also have Richard Jenkins (The Visitor), Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler), Brad Pitt (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button) and Sean Penn (Milk). Rourke has been picking up steam, but to me he’s playing a version of himself in this movie. My vote goes to Penn. He gives an incredible performances, and if you’ve seen the documentaries on Harvey Milk, he embodies him so completely it’s eerie.

Best Picture: The nominees are The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Frost Nixon, Milk, The Reader and Slumdog Millionaire. I think Slumdog takes this one all the way to the bank. It’s won every major award SAG, DGA, WGA, the producers and cinematographers. People love this movie, and I’m one of them. I believe all these guys are worthy, but Slumdog is the one film that really hits the heart. I think it’s the big winner.

So tell me about your picks… Who do you think will win? Do you have questions about other categories? Post them here. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. We love the Oscars too! Although this year isn’t my all-time-fave year, as I have not much investment in most of the films. I’m going to go with the following picks:

    Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger (but man, Downey got me in Tropic Thunder, too)
    Best Supporting Actress: I’ll have to go with Tomei on this one
    Best Actress: Yikes, her head’s got to be spinning, but Melissa Leo FTW!
    Best Actor: I’m going with Langella. Astonishing stuff, man.
    Best Picture: Slumdog Millionaire, although I think Milk is a dark horse here

    — R.

  2. I have to confess that I haven’t seen most of these movies. I tend to avoid the ultra-violent or depressing movies (heck, I’ve got real life for that–when I go to the movies I want to be entertained and cheered up!), although I did see Slumdog. Very well done, although I was depressed for days after. I’m thinking it will win best pic and best director. I think Heath will win. I am hoping for Penelope Cruz, although I think it is a long shot. Great actress, great movie. I thought Meryl should have been nominated for Mamma Mia!–I’m not even a big fan and I thought she did a fab job.

  3. This is the first time I’ll be watching the Oscars in about ten years. I don’t think I’ve seen any of the movies nominated — while hubby and I like to go to the movies, we don’t generally pick ones that would be nominated for any Oscars.

    So why am I watching? For Hugh Jackman, of course! :)

  4. OSCARS

    I share your love of the Oscars at home in jammies, Candy! I would be happy if either Slumdog or Benjamin Button won. I loved Slumdog but there was something magical about Benjamin Button. The only other category I will comment on is Best Actress. I thought Meryl Streep was amazing in Doubt.

    Jenny

    http://www.jenniferarcher.net

  5. Great Author

    not sure about the oscars but I just read your book like a charm, fantastic!!!!!!!! Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

