Alien Ducks

Standard

I had the weirdest dream about alien ducks. They were pink and yellow and had the razor sharp bills. Think PEEPS with a bit of bite. They didn’t have eyes, but they made this horrible screeching sound. One of them went really bonkers and crashed through my refrigerator. I know, this is my brain on drugs. Well, I don’t know if it was the cough medicine or the almond cookie (courtesy of Kung Fu Panda) that I ate right before bed that caused the craziness, but I now have an irrational fear of pink and yellow ducks. I have a feeling that’s going to end up in a book.

I had plans to go to my mentor and friend, Jodi Thomas, book signing at Legacy Books (12 p.m.) in Plano. But I’m still feeling ick and I worry about spreading my nasty germs. And there’s that whole having to drive for an hour to get there high on cold medicine. I keep missing her signings because we have them on the same day. If you can’t go to her signing please check out Tall, Dark and Texan. It’s one of the best stories this NYTime’s bestselling author has ever written, and one of my favorite heroes.

So what are you guys doing this weekend? I made chicken and dumplings last night, and I think that maybe the extent of my effort for the weekend. :-) I’m missing a couple of parties, but I feel like I have to take care of myself and get well. So I’m living vicariously through you. What are you doing? Reading? Watching? Shopping for? Tell me everything.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. LOL, you poor thing, we know never to get you peeps at Easter :D

    This weekend I’m working and so is the DH. HOWEVER, tomorrow the heathens and I will be finally making our way to see Twilight *happy dance*

    Hope you feel better!

  2. Well, first off — I’m sending you Get-Thee-Better Vibes.

    For the next few days, I’m living the Life Of A Temporary Bachelorette. Which around here means keeping weird hours, working on a project, doing some writing, and hoping against hope there’s something decent to watch when I do take a break. As for reading: in the homestretch of *Charmed and Deadly*.

  3. I never have liked those Peeps. Icky! And obviously they have an ulterior motive!

    But if you’re living vicariously through me, you’re in worse shape than I thought. *g* My life is D. U. L. L. Dull. Not that I’m complaining about that given the chaos of the last couple of months.

  4. Becky’s annual Toys for Tots party is tonight, so Stephen and I are off to that this evening with a big bag o toys! finished shopping and mailing stuff off for the nieces and nephew in Alaska. Now I need to shop for Stephen and figure out our TX flights and such for the Christmas trip.

  5. Alien Ducks

    I think you’ve just thrown my love of peeps out the window! *G* This weekend? NADA! My Daughter is sick now and I still have the last vestiges of whatever this sinus thing is, my hubs started painting our bathroom and it was a bad color. Ugh. I did get to send him to run errands yesterday, that was fun. Quiet time for me, even if it was with both kids! *G* And today, well cleaning is boring.
    Hope you’re feeling better soon!
    -Brandy

  6. GET WELL SOON CANDACE!

    Hey Candace!
    I hope you are feeling much better and having fun Christmas shopping!
    You have some great contest going and I love the pic on Fresh Fiction of you, Sherilyn and Diana. :)
    Take care and have a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    **HUGS**
    Chris J.

  7. The Weekend

    Hello again!
    Me and Gennell went to see Twilight and we loved it!
    The weekend was fun, my family and I went to La Cantera (mall, restaurants and it is outdoors)and I know you would love it there. :)
    Took my daughter to Build A Bear, we went out to eat and then came home and watched movies!
    On Sunday we went to Sea World and watched there Christmas shows. It was alot of fun.
    Take care and I hope you are feeling better!
    **HUGS**

Leave a Reply

