Well, Hello

Standard

How are you guys? We had a great Thanksgiving. Lots of folks to the house and tons of food. I’ve decided not to step on the scales until next week.

I don’t remember Friday. I had plans to shop, but I ended up sleeping most of the day. One of those lovely sigraines hit and it knocked me out. Though I did manage to read Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Loved it.

I woke of Saturday and felt fine, though I’ve been wicked tired all weekend. I went ot my friend Mark’s wedding on Saturday night. He married a beautiful woman, Madelyn, and it was a sweet, simple wedding. Loved it. And I had a chance to visit with my friends from the radio station. Mark aka Hawkeye is part of the morning crew I do movie reviews for, and he’s a great guy. They all are.

Then we went to my mother-in-law’s 70th birthday party. She doesn’t look or act anywhere near that age, whatever that age is… :-)

Today I hung out with Shannon and Rosemary at the bookstore. I love our time together. Then I came home and the guys were putting up Christmas on the inside. Okay, technically, I’d left strict instructions that it had better be done by the time I got home. We have a new rule in the house that everyone has to help out with big projects. ;-) So Christmas is up and it looks great. After all these years the kids really have it down.

I did learn a few things about myself the past few days:
1. My limit in heels is now 1 hour and 25 minutes. That’s it. Sad but true.
2. There is a limit to how much pie one girl can eat. Seriously.
3. If you take a nap right after the meal, no matter how rude it might seem, the elves (read in laws) do the dishes. I wish I’d known this years ago. ;-)
4. It’s okay not to have all your Christmas shopping and cards done. What’s life without a little adventure?

So tell me what’s been going on with you? How was your Thanksgiving? Did you buy any cool gifts? Tell all!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend (well, with the exception of Friday :|) I had to work Friday so luckily avoided the Black Friday mess. Though even if I wouldn’t have been at work I would have tried avoiding the masses like the plague. But I did manage to finish up oldest kid, and got the *big* gifts for younger two online :D So now just a matter of the little stuff. We had a fantastic Thanksgiving, just the family all day. All of us very thankful to have that time together.

    The one cool gift I have (I think it’s cool) is for my oldest, did you know that record players are coming back into style!? So we picked her up this record player/cd/radio… thing :D She’s a music freak, anything and everything music she loves. So I managed to find her favorite soundtracks (Footloose and Grease) on LP, as well as a couple other bands, Eagles, Guns & Roses, Chicago. Can’t wait until she sees them :D

    Have a great week!

  2. Well, Hello!

    We had a quiet Thanksgiving, just the four of us and enjoyed every minutes of it. Friday was a big extended family dinner and the only shopiing we did was for groceries! The rest of weekend was spent (by me) trying to recover from some awful cold/sinus infectin thing that I can’t get rid of! Ugh!
    Hope the decorations were lovely!

  3. I’m glad you had a good Turkey Day! And I don’t doubt you enjoy hanging out with Rosemary, she is such a sweetheart. Both of you have left a lasting impression on me.

    My Thanksgiving was pretty much like any other time we spend with the family. Friday was nice, I got some shopping done but avoided most of the Black (I’m calling it Red Friday though, this year couldn’t have been much money making for retailers what with the economy and all) Friday craziness. All of my decorations but for the house lights are up. I’d have them up if my husband didn’t forbid my pregnant self to get on a ladder.

    One cool gift I DID buy a was a barbie in a pink convertible! I think Averie will like that. And it was on sale for only 10 bucks! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

