Winners and Thanks!

Standard

Hey Gang,
Thanks so much to those of you who came and hung out with me at Legacy books yesterday. I’m so grateful. I wish you guys could have seen the cake they had with my book cover on it. It was amazing!!!

I wanted to go ahead and announce the winners for the past two weeks. Congratulations to you all. And remember gang, at the end of the month is the drawing for the cc’ing your friends contest. The details are on http://www.candacehavens.com.

The winners are:

Shandair

Majgie Moon

Beautiful Nightmare

Rachel Chloe

The prizes include copies of Twisted Creek by Jodi Thomas, Too Many Curses by A. Lee Martinez and other autographed books. The winners need to send me their snail mail at candehavensbooks@gmail.com

I want to hear what you guys are reading.

I want to know what you thought of Twilight. (I loved it.)

I want to know what you are thankful for

I’m thankful for you!

Candy

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. signing and winners

    Ooh, the cake sounds so nice! What a lovely thing to do.
    Congratulations winners!

    As for what I’m thankful for? The delightful people (and authors) I’ve met over the internet, my family, books, and my kitties. *G* And I just finished reading Divorced, Desperate and Dating by Christie Craig and will now start Talk of the Town by Karen Hawkins. I’m waiting for my Daughter to give me back Hell Week by Rosemary Clement-Moore, she pilfered it from me! *G*
    -Brandy

    Have a Wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. I am reading “Bit The Jackpot” by Erin McCarthy

    I read Twilight and didn’t like it, so I will not be going to see the movie. I didn’t like the way her vampires were.. Too many new rules that were completely different from all of the rest of the established rules.

    I am thankful that I now have a full time job with benefits. Before this I have been working through a temp agency and have had no insurance or vacation days. It sucked.

  3. Congrats winners!

    I’m still reading Charmed & Dangerous, got preoccupied the end of the week with some writing stuff. The next on my list is Eclipse. As for Twilight, I have an interesting story regarding that. If you’re into pregnant adventures, have a read :-P http://christacarol.blogspot.com/2008/11/my-personal-twilight-adventure.html

    I’m so-so on the movie. I like it. But, I AM disappointed. Heartily disappointed. It could have been so much better.

    I think one of the reasons (of course this is just a guess and opinion) Twilight did so good (book wise) is *because* of it’s non-cliche approach to the vampire. I personally loved the new twists, it made it more intriguing and less predictable than all the other vampire stories out there. It takes some creative thought to be able to pull it off as well as she did. I applaud Meyers, even if there are parts in the book that could be better. But honestly, there are ALWAYS things in books that could be better. It’s the way it is.

    I think I listed what I was thankful for in another comment box so I won’t continue to fill this one up. Happy Thanksgiving Candy! I would’ve been at the signing this weekend if it wasn’t so far for me. But I’m glad it went well!

    -ChristaCarol (wouldn’t take my open user http for some reason)

  4. Yay! :Does a Happy Dance: Thanks so much!

    I haven’t seen Twilight myself, but my husband and daughter saw it over the weekend (I stayed home in bed sick). My daughter, as much good as she had to say about the book, thought the movie was the worst thing ever.

    Currently, I am reading Don of the Dead by Casey Daniels. I’ve never read any of her books before, but it looked interesting when the bookstore had NONE of the books I was looking for (including yours!). This annoys me considering that these are large bookstores in a pretty big city (unless you compare it to New York or Atlanta) — Popular authors (You, Piers Anthony, etc) and lately they never have the books that I want.

    Anyway – Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

