Hello! and Twilight!

Standard

Hey Gang,
The book signing on Saturday was a roaring success and I want to thank all of you who came out to support me and The Demon King and I. It was wonderful to see you, and we had so much fun. A special thanks to Heidi, Kelley and Sandie for helping me with crowd control. :-) You guys are awesome. And Jessica, girl you can bring me cupcakes any time. LOVE THEM!

I’m busy with copy edits for Dragons Prefer Blondes. I forgot how much I love this story. The edits weren’t bad at all, it’s just a matter of making sure I have everything that I want in there.

Romancedivas.com has a new interview up with me and you should definitely check it out. I reveal even more than I did in the witchychicks one. I’m also teaching a class on there called Revision Hell. It’s how to get through those revisions without killing yourself. :-) I’ve also started a new creative writing class on my Write_Workshop loop. It’s fun and very different. If you’re interested in writing, or stuck in some way, check it out.

I know I promised winners today, but I haven’t had time to put everyone’s name in the hat. (Yes, I really do that.) Things are kind of busy right now, but I PROMISE on Sunday I will have four winners. :-) (Quickly checking calendar to make sure Sunday is really free. Yes. Sunday it is.)

PLEASE COME SEE ME. I have another booksigning Saturday from 2-4 p.m. in Dallas at Legacy Books, The address is 7300 Dallas Parkway, Suite A120, Plano 75024
Telephone (972) 398-9888
http://www.legacybooksonline.com

AND there will be wine and cake afterward at the store. Fresh Fiction is throwing the party so let’s give it up for those guys. :-)

Tell me what you guys are reading, and where are you doing Thanksgiving this year?

Oh, and I saw Twilight. Are you guys fans of the books? I like them. The pacing is a little slow for me, but I get drawn into that world very easily.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

11 responses »

  1. Hmmmm…..that Saturday signing isn’t all that far from me. Hmmmmm….Saturday. Maybe…just maybe. The parking up that way is a nightmare, but…hmmmm.

    What I’m reading; funny you should ask. *Charmed and Ready*.

    I’m somewhere between one and two generations outside the target audience for the *Twilight* books, and I haven’t been all that impressed by the clips I’ve seen of the movie. Partially put off by the author taking credit for the *surge* in the popularity of modern vampire fiction. Hello? Charlaine Harris? Heck, Hello? Joss Whedon?

    Hope to see you Saturday. If all works out, one old bat-on-wheels and one low-key hunky hubby at your disposal for crowd control.

  2. Ooooo, Twilight! I envy you. I’m hoping to go Friday. Did you like it? The first book was good. The second, eh. The pacing and certain personality flaws that constantly get focused on drove me a little nuts, but I did read it so that should mean something, right?

    Right now, funnily enough, I am reading Charmed & Dangerous. I have to say, I LOVE your voice. And I found myself laughing out loud in several areas (nothing like having people look at you funny when you do that).

    This year we’re headed to husband’s family about an hour away. They don’t serve turkey though (they do a chicken stuffing casserole) and I’m a bit mopey about that. To me, it isn’t Thanksgiving without a turkey! So I may just go out and buy us one for the day after T-day just so I can have my turkey this year.

  3. This Saturday I’ve researved for D&D with the family. It’s a new thing we’re doing to spend more time with the kids. Otherwise, I’d love to see you! I’ve heard that book store is great. :-)

    Hope it’s awesome and tons of people attend!!!

    Delilah

  4. Thanksgiving we go to Stephen’s uncle’s house this year. I usually make two pies but others are making them this year. I also usually do apps and vegetables but they are starting hte party 2 hours early this year so they are on their own for the apps.

    So my normal please let the weather work for scratch fudge and baked goods + steamed and roasted vegetables.

    Friday I will shop some, watch football, and do the mailing. Mailing may happen Saturday. It is always a little tenuous since I will be out of the house until late in the normal baking week and the snow has already started in the DC area.

  5. Good luck with your booksigning! If you’re ever in the DC area, I’d love to have you sign mine!
    And I can’t wait to see Twilight! I loved the books. Even with the slow pacing, they were full of heart. Sure they were predictable, but they felt familiar, like a fairy tale that you’d read a long time ago and were enjoying again.

  6. I am sooo frustrated. I have looked and looked and looked for The Demon King and I, and I can’t find it. Every store I go in says they are out – which is good for you but bad for me. I have been looking for it since the release date.

    I can’t order it from Amazon or anything right now. All cards (including debt) have been cancelled after an unfortunate event in Atlanta.

    But for happier things, I haven’t read Twilight yet. My 17 year old daughter just finished the first book and gave it to me read, so I plan on that when I finish the books I am reading. Currently, Fool Moon (Dresden Files Book2), and The Witch Is Dead (Ophelia & Abby Mysteries, No. 5).

    I still don’t know what Thanksgiving holds this year. My mother said she wasn’t doing anything because my sister in law’s family takes the whole day, so I had planned on hosting a dinner for the day after. Yesterday Mother said that she would be hosting. I am starting to think sit home, watch football, and eat leftover Pizza might be a good idea!

  7. Hello

    I wish I lived in TX! As for Twilight, I haven’t read it, yet. *g* Thanksgiving we’re going to have a low-key event here, just hubs, the kids and I. We were invited to the Out-laws but decided we didn’t want to go anywhere, mostly so the kids could play with their friends. *G*

  8. Hi Candy,

    It’s good to hear that your signing went well. I’m waiting for you to say that you’ll be signing in Northern California :D

    My husband’s parents were here this past weekend and we had an early Turkey Day. There were desserts everywhere. (No cupcakes though-I’ll be making some this weekend for my daughter’s birthday though :) )

    Not sure what we’ll do for Thanksgiving Day,I’m still full from last weekend.

    Hugs, Danette

Leave a Reply

