Busy Signal And Winners

Standard

Hey Everyone!
It’s been a little crazy around here. The weekend was consumed with Hurricane Ike and making sure family and friends were okay. I’m not sure I’ve ever watched so much news in my life. I grew up in Houston and I was worried about everyone I love in that area.

I’ve been previewing several films including Nights in Rodanthe, Ghost Town and Flash of Genius. In other words, I haven’t been home much this week and when I am I’m working on columns.

I did take time to blog over at the witchy chicks http://witchychicks.blogspot.com/ yesterday about my home town. You should check it out.

I’m heading to Denver this weekend. If you’re in the area and would like to have Sunday breakfast email me at tvscoop@sbcglobal.net.

The following folks have won books. If you email me at the above address I’ll send you a book.

Chris

Jessica

Jen

Now, I want to know what you guys are reading? I’m waiting on some of my book proposals to go through so I know what I need to work on next.

And TV, do you like any of the new shows? What did you think of Fringe? My kids liked it as much as I did.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. Safe and fun travels to you, madam. And fingers are crossed for the book proposals.

    Reading? I’m on deadline, so there hasn’t been much time for it. When I can, I’ve been grabbing a couple of pages of HERE BE DRAGONS: TALES FROM DRAGONCON, edited by Bill Fawcett.

    So far, I’ve only caught two of the new shows. *Fringe* struck me as *X-Files* without the good writing and engaging characters. On the other hand, *True Blood* has found much favor in my household. The only thing they didn’t get right is the casting for “Sam”, who should be round and fuzzy and comfortable. Otherwise, dead-on and entirely enjoyable.

  2. omgosh! i checked your site like ton of time to ee if you were ok. im so glad all is well with you and your family :) right now im reading a series by karen chance and next up is storm born. waiting on more books to come out by you of course, and richelle mead, rachel vincent, kim harrison and lkhamilton.

    as for tv? well, im actually into a lot this season, which is not me normally but im liking the shows this year so far. i really like house, fringe, the sarah connor chroncles, trueblood and bones :) but i so can not wait for greys anatomy to come back!

    im not in denver – but if you come to indiana, im there for you :)

    stay safe,
    bella

  3. I’m reading “Real Vampires Get Lucky” By Gerry Bartlett. Third book in the series. I really like the main character, Glory St. Clair, the girl has hips.. lol..

    I haven’t watched much new tv. Spending time with the BF and doing all of my Finance homework has really zapped my free time.

  4. I just finished reading Underground by Kat Richardson (it’s the new Greywalker novel.) I loved it!

    I’m not getting into the new tv shows too much, but I’m very excited that the season premiere of Supernatural is on tonight!

  5. I thought you were going to blog about Houston, not DFW:-) Although the comment person from near Katy, yes, Menil is wonderful. Lots good and far better than you would have recalled, in Houston. you should go for a real visit (I am one to talk).

    OK, once they all have power and dry out.

    Fringe: entertaining so far. not blown away. Not irritated so much I refuse to watch, though.

Leave a Reply

