TV2

Standard

Tuesdays are an interesting night and I’m glad I have an extra DVR. (Truthfully, the same can be said of Monday.)

One of the shows getting the most interest is “Fringe,” which debuts Sept. 9, on Fox. I liked it. You’ll read some other reviews from people who absolutely hated it, but not me. I liked the science. I liked the fact that Olivia (Anna Torv) is a kickbutt chick who does whatever it takes to save the man she loves. (Wait until you see what she goes through). There are also so many twists and turns in this one. Joshua Jackson is a little flat at first, but he eventually finds his way as Peter Bishop. And John Noble who plays Peter’s father John is brilliant in the role. I cannot wait to see where this one goes. And J.J. Abrahms promises it won’t turn into another Alias or Lost, which quite honestly, well, I like/liked both of those shows. I’m still a Lost fan. I don’t care that it’s weirder than ever and I can’t wait to see what they do in January.

But I digress. I also like Privliged which debuts Tuesday on the CW. It’s based on the book “How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls” and it’s a bunch of frothy fun. I liked it way more than the new “Beverly Hills, 90210. One of the biggest reasons is JoAnna Garcia, who plays the tutor, Megan, to rich girls Rose (Lucy Kate Hale) and Sage (Ashley Newbrough). There’s a lot more humor than you’d expect and some great quirky characters in this one.

Um, I also really liked “The Mentalist,” which debuts Sept. 23 on CBS. I’m not really a crime of the week kind of girl, but Simon Baker captivates me with his tortured hero Patrick Jane in this one. This is a guy who used to pretend to be a psychic, but after his family was brutally murdered he turns his powers of observation to helping the California Bureau of Investigation. This is no “Psych” knockoff. It’s very much it’s own thing and I liked it.

I’m also looking forward to the return of Eli Stone. I’ll talk more about this one later, but man I LOVE that show!

That’s it for Tuesday. Be back soon with Wednesday.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

Leave a Reply

