TV

Standard

Okay, I’m talkin trash about TV for the next few days. Right now I’m stickin’ with new shows and stuff I want to talk about… Oh, please pardon the typos. It’s Friday and I’m tired. Heck, you guys know me, there’s always typos. ;-)

I can’t put everything in one blog, so I’m breaking this up by days. First up, Sunday…

How much do I love True Blood (Sept. 7, on HBO)? Way much. I’m so, so happy that Alan Ball picked up that book on his way to the dentists office. He’s done a beautiful job of bringing the books to life, and I heart the cast he’s carefully chosen. This is one of those shows that I hope goes big! Sopranos big. This is DVR sure thing.

Little Britain (Sept. 28). Sigh. I had high hopes for this import they are remaking for the U.S., but with the same guys. Unfortunately, it’s a lot of mean humor. I’m just not into that these days. That’s not to say it doesn’t make me laugh at times, but it’s not going on the DVR.

MONDAY

Raising the Bar (TNT): There are a lot of great people in this show, but it’s just another lawyer show from Steven Bochco. Done. Bored. Sexy folks doing some sexy things, but there’s not enough different here to keep me interested.

Desperate Housewives and Brothers and Sisters returns on the 28th. Marc Cherry said he’s getting back to what makes DH work, those women and their stories. Expect some new folks to enter the picture and he’s really mixing it up. Eva won’t look so good. Motherhood hasn’t been kind to her.

Okay… Terminator (Sept. 8) I’ve seen the first two episode and it rocks so much more than last season. Oh, I liked last season, but this edgier, more action and John grows up. It’s on the DVR and I can’t wait to see where this goes.

Worst Week (CBS, Sept. 22.) This show made me laugh big time. I love the cast Kyle Bornheimer, Erinn Hayes, Nancy Lenehan and the wonderful Kurtwood Smith. Kyle plays a guy who is trying to impress his inlaws, which usually lands him in hot water. It might get old, but for now it’s going on my DVR upstairs. (Monday nights are crowded as you’ll see below.) It’s in the lineup with How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory and Two and Half Men. It’s a good fit.

Heroes (Sept. 22) Tim Kring is bringing the gang back in style. It’s all about the villains this season. The first episode brings you up to speed and sets some of our favorites on a whole new journey. Sorry, I’m trying hard not to spoil the fun for everyone. But this show is definitely back on track.

Chuck (Sept. 29) I’m gonna watch the first three episodes tonight, so I can’t give you much right now. But from talking to the gang during the set visit, it’s going to be as much fun as last year. All of our favorites are back, and I promise to give you some more once I see the shows. I can say, the Buy More, really is an electronics store. Very friggin’ cool. Life is also back and I’m fond of this show, but they sort of lost me toward the end of the season. We’ll see what happens.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. I’m excited to see Heroes and Chuck this season and I think that Worst Week sounds good. I still miss the old T.G.I.F. shows though.

    Hugs, Danette

Leave a Reply

