Wednesday/Winner

Standard

Woot. It’s Wednesday. I have no idea why that makes me happy, but it does. I’ve been working on various things, sent that latest project to my agent and it’s going out, along with proposals to my editor at Berkley, so fingers crossed on all accounts. :-)

My day was made by two different men today. :-) Brandon in SC, is an asst. manager of a Walden bookstore there. He emailed just to tell me that his customers love my books. His exact words were: “I must tell you what a big seller you are in my store. I usually have quite a few customers ask where your books are. And once a customer reads one of your books, they always ask if I have anymore by you.” That sort of thing can make a girl’s day. I don’t tell you this to brag, just to explain that sometimes a girl needs to hear “we love you” from strangers. :-)

Right after that I received an email from one of my favorite artists, Rocky Kelley/Ashen Gray (One guy, two different kinds of art. http://www.RockyKelley.com http://www.AshenGray.com) He said he was in a bookstore in Waco and saw Charmed & Ready. Says he also ran into a “HUGE” fan of my work who reads everything I write. (That always makes me want to write faster.)

Anyhoo… It’s funny that those emails come on a day when my editor has sent back my edits/revisions for Dragons Prefer Blondes. ;-) Honestly, it’s all easy stuff. Just have to sit down and do it. And she started her letter with the fact that she really enjoyed and says I’ve created a fun world that it’s a treat to visit. (Yes, these words make me feel better about life. I’m sorry, I need that kind of validation every once in a while.)

I tell you all of this because of my horoscope. No wait, it’s my daily Tarot. Here’s what it said: The Six of Wands card suggests that my power today lies in validation. I rise to the occasion and am motivated or made confident to take it to the next level by the recognition, admiration, praise, or accolades put on my achievements or personal success. I am newly aware of and proud of my sense of empowerment and I transform through acceptance.

LOL. I want us all to be EMPOWERED today. We should be every day, but let’s make an extra effort.

So tell me how you’re empowered today! Do you need validation too? (I love and adore you. No, really, I do. I have the greatest appreciation for everyone who hangs out here.)

The winner of the FREE BOOK this week is Deborah Blake. Send me your address to tvscoop@sbcglobal.net. (I hate to encourage the stalking, but your name came out of the hat. ;-) )

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. I don’t know that I feel especially empowered today… unless you count my friends who seem to think it’s perfectly okay that I have a collective cast of 60 for the book I’m working on. It seems a bit excessive to me, but at least some of them are going to be murder victims. *g*

  2. Funny, I have a new collaborator I did not really ask for and she has been so so so validating it is not even funny. AND she has data I have been saying we needed but would never find. Now TIME, and to deal with all the others I owe stuff to. Now Tuesday in my meeting I was on a roll of being empowered. Many thanks to my director. moving moving moving through those grants.

    So have a wonderful week/weekend dear cousin! Stephen and I have to plan our next trip to DFW. I am about to enter a phase where I am home 4 weekends between now and Thanksgiving. This includes Thanksgiving. 8 of those weekends I am gone straight. no idea how I will keep food in the house. Oh well it will happen.

  3. I was empowered to play with my little brother and I did. We rode the tractor and had fun while my mom got my little sister to sleep for school tomorrow. Usually I turn her down but today I just really wanted to. I am glad I did.

  4. I am not feeling empowered, at all today so I won’t talk about me… not a good time. I will say they would have to be stupid not to like your books. really looking forward to the next, it is all very exciting. Your world is much less dark then the dark hunters and much easier to believe in. If I could pick one yours would be my first choice.

  5. I feel empowered today with the joy of friendship. I was a bit burnt out from yesturday(my youngest turned 5 and I spent the day running around getting thing ready for a dinner party we threw for her)and this morning I met up with a couple friends and shared some laughter.

    Hugs, Danette
    http://nenscl.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

