Friends

Standard

I count myself lucky to have really amazing friends. People who are there for me no matter what. It’s one of the greatest blessings of my life. I say this because I realized after spending Wednesday night with Rosemary and Shannon, and lunch today with Ronda, that I have some really amazing people in my life. I’ve known Ronda since I was two years old. How crazy is that? There are my college friends like Rikki and Alicia. We used to get together all the time, but now it’s only once or twice a year. Still, we pick up right where we left off.

And I don’t about you but I have friends all over the place. Some of my dearest buds, Scott, Rob and Rob, I only see twice a year at press tour. We keep in touch throughout the months thru email and phone, but when we’re together I’m just amazed by the fun we have… and the um, trouble we get into. :-) You guys know what I’m talking about!

There are newer friends, some that I just met at RWA, who I just had an instant connection with and I can’t wait to get to know them.

I have friends, who when we are in the bookstore, thank you Britta, will say “LOOK IT’S THE FAMOUS CANDY HAVENS, HAVE YOU READ HER NEW BOOK? I HAVE TO GET HER AUTOGRAPH.” Yes it’s horrifying, and absolutely wonderful at the same time to have friends like that. There have been days when Britta, Shannon and Rosemary have had to pick me up off the floor and help me get through the day. I get teary just thinking of those times, and I’m glad when there time came I was there for them.

And most of my friends, and family read this blog. You know I love you. :-) And that I’m so incredibly grateful for your support.

So today, I want to hear about your friends. Tell me a story about your best friend, but keep it clean. :-) My kids read this thing. And so do their friends. :-)

AND MEGA THANKS to all of you who have been requesting Charmed & Ready at your local bookstores. I’m so, so grateful to you. :-) Thank you for being my friend.

Remember, the more you post the better your chances for FREE BOOKS!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

8 responses »

  1. My best male friend and I were reunited after almost 20 years apart and picked up right where we had left off…well, not quite, but basically…he is always there for me even if we are far away…which is most of the time…I can tell him anything…and we talk about everything…we may not always agree, but we respect each others opinions…

    My best girlfriend is my former supervisor…she always says we are sisters and that she was delivered to the wrong family….we talk everyday even though we work together…

  2. My best friend was my neighbor when I was a wee little one. We became best friends when she had a bad case of the hives and couldn’t go outside. I heard about it and felt sorry for her. I would go over to her house and keep her company. That happened about 30+ years ago and we’ve been best friends ever since.

  3. Friends

    I have many friends, but I only have one really close friend. Her name is Erica and we went to high school together. We tell each other everything and talk either through email, facebook, or a phone call almost everyday. Sometimes we talk on the phone for hours. We didn’t become really good friends until we were juniors in highschool, but from that point on we have been inseprable. We are now juniors in college and each other even less, but still find time for each other.

    I was there for her when her grandmother passed away and she was recently here for me when my grandmother passed. It’s about a 40 minute drive from my house to hers and she came out for me with no questions asked. If I wanted to get out of the house, she drove all the way to mine to help me.

    I don’t think she realizes how much I depend on her, but I am sure she feels the same way about me.

  4. Aww, Candy, sounds like you have some awesome family and friends *bg*

    I have two people whom I consider my best-friends… one would be my friend Nichelle ‘Niki’. We met in my sophmore year in high school through another friend. I was worried that she was going to steal the other friend away from me, lol. But, it turned out that she was the one I actually got close to. And, when I had trouble at the age of sixteen, she and her family welcomed me with open arms and helped me out when I needed it most. I moved to another state since then, but we still keep in contact and see each other whenever we can. Whenever we do get together or talk, it feels like no time has passed. We’ve always tried to be there for each other *bg*

    My other best-friend would have to be Alberto. I first met him when we worked at a bank together… after he left for a better oppertunity at another bank, he took me with him :). When he left again, three years later, to another bank… again, as soon as they were hiring, he recommended me *bg* It’s so nice to have a male perspective on things and to hang out with someone who understands you in all your weirdness, lol. In the past year, we’ve both been through some hard times, and I thank God that he was here to help me on those rough days and that I was able to help him with his :)

  5. Hey Friend

    Candy,

    Loved the post. And love the new website look! I know we don’t see each other or talk as much these days (busy lives and all that!) but know that I still consider you one of my best writer buddies! No one else except my hubby has ever held hands with me during a Rita ceremony. And across my editor’s lap, no less! And, yes, I still drop in a couple of times a month to catch up on your blog.

    Congrats on all the recent successes! I’m going to pick up the new book soon!

    Love,
    Jenny

  6. I’ve known my best friend since I was 14. We were in 3 classes together in high school. We were such good friends we even made it through a year in a dorm room together with no fights that I can remember. Actually there was one difficulty that I remember vividly. Sandy had fell in the shower and cut herself. I wanted to take her to the health services and she didn’t want really want to go. After much waiting it out, we went together.

    She was there for me through all my difficult times.

    I doesn’t matter how much time lapses between our conversations, we always are on the same wavelength. We get together and get up to date and it’s like no time has passed.

    She now lives in northern CA and I live in southern CA. She has little time for talking because she has 2 little ones. But still, we keep in contact.

  7. Funny, how many of my friends we sometimes barely talk but then the flurry of emails or phone or whatever happen for periods. I think we just pick up. I know you love me, although I know you all love Stephen more :-) Ok, maybe just the men in your house do :-)

    Even my elementary school friend, with similar yet very different lives, we hit it off. after years at a time we keep doing that. Same with friends of mine from Spain. The trait vs. the state I guess. And we tend to want the traits to be the good things.

    Well, I will thank the fudge and cookie boxes maybe, too.

    What I have decided over the years is that people in general are good people. This makes life and care of other lives much easier. I think we have more friends now, but whereever people go they tend to find people like them, and as we go through more and more circles we pick up more and more peeps.

    So be happy, be loving, be kind. enjoy life. Have fun, and come through.

Leave a Reply

