San Fran and Dollhouse

Standard

Yesterday we had so much fun. Rosemary, Shannon, Marjorie Liu and myself took on San Fran. First we stopped at Fisherman’s Wharf so we could see the views of Alcatraz and the sea lions. Then we did the cable car tour, which was a blast. We saw the Marina District, rode over the Golden Gate bridge (freezing to death because we refused to sit in the inside portion of the cable car), visited the Presidio, Pacific Heights, Russian Hill, Nob Hill, Union Square (which is right by our hotel), Chinatown, North Beach, Lombard Street and cable car drive went out of his way to show us the Painted Ladies. It was a great way to see the city, while sitting on our butts. Of course we made up for that by doing some shopping afterwards. I introduced my friends to Ed Hardy (edhardyshop.com), they loved the store. I’m still thinking about going back and getting some shoes I found there, but I was the only one who didn’t buy anything. I know, you just fainted. I was looking for those darn dragon sunglasses but they were sold out. We hit a few more places and then headed back to the hotel. Later Shannon and Rosemary and I went to Piazza, which was a great Italian place. We needed a reservation but didn’t have one, but they still let us in. The food was amazing, and we had fun. I always have fun with my chicas.

Today they are headed into Chinatown, but I have a little work to do this morning. I will probably hit some more of the shops in Union Square and around the hotel. You know, I’ll need a break. ;-)

I thought you guys might like to see some photos from my stop at Dollhouse in L.A. You can’t see much but the photos were taken in the main room of the place where the actives hangout until they are called into service.

Again… if you are in the area please come see me tonight from 5:30-7:30 in the Yerba Buena Ballroom at the Marriot San Fran.


About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. Wish I was there. Adore SF and the surrounding area. Seattle also is great in the summer. You have to go some time (Summer there is July 5-Labor Day). I also big puffy heart Marriott and not just because I work next door to their headquarters. I like the bath and body works smelly stuff and that they usually get rid of the feathers in the room when I ask. And other things. My trip to Denver the conference hotel is a Hyatt though and the closest Marriott was not, on the map, so close.

    Have a wonderful time! Bolivian? Peruvian? I forget what great restaurant I went to last trip to SF. It was Bolivian independence day, Aug 6 I think.

    Got my nephew an Ed Hardy shirt for his birthday. Hoping he will like it.

Leave a Reply

