Press Tour Day 13

Standard

I can’t remember my name or where I live, but it’s all good. :-) I can’t believe it’s another two weeks before i get to go home. I’m admitting it right here in front of everyone. I’m homesick. Okay… Moving on. To day belonged to universal. There are more Housewives on Bravo, these are from Atlanta. About five minutes in I wanted to slit my wrist. I mean, I think I’m self-absorbed. OMG. And I’m girly and like clothes and jewelry, but OMG. Also Tabatha, the hairstylist from Shear Genius, has her own show now. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. That’s not fair. I haven’t actually seen it.zzzzzzzzzzzzz. Coolio was here with his family. Another reality show about a rap star and his family. At least they were entertaining. My favorite was when Coolio said, “man, I love the ho’s.” CRICKETS. “I mean, I love women.” Right there in front of this kids. I actually liked it. At least he keeps it real.

Debra Messing was here for the new series The Starter Wife. I love her. I didn’t watch the mini-series that is now becoming a series, but I might. I did worry that her dress, which was a beautiful emerald gree, but low cut, might fall open and show things she never wanted us to see. Another inch and….

SCI Fi was up next with Sanctuary and the spin-off Caprica. Both look very, very interesting. Amanda Tapping from Stargate and Stargate Atlantis stars in Sanctuary. She plays a cool character who is over a 150 years old. Let’s just say she looks good for her age. The whole thing is shot in green screen and has amazing special effects. Caprica looked very urban. It’s all centered on AI, and two powerful families. The cast was interesting, Polly Walker (Rome), Eric Stoltz and Paula Malcomson (Deadwood). If you’re interested, ask and I’ll give you more details.

The gang, including Lorne Michaels who I neglected to say one our Lifetime Achievement Award at the TCA’s last night. They were funny, and I’m curious what they do in this very political season. The party was here at the hotel. All the NBC stars. I did some Heroes Talking. Masi, Sendhill and Milo all were fun to chat with. Of course no one talked much about the new season. Except to say it’s going to be very, very dark. Sendhill, who is a beautiful specimen of a man, said we’re going to see him in a way like we never have before. Masi said the same thing. They all said they knew last season needed work, but they are coming back strong with the new season. We shall see. I also spoke with Jamie Bamber. I told you guys I only started watching Battlestar Galactica this year. I totally faked my way through the interview. Had no idea he was from London, that with the good looks, well, it’s a very nice package.

Saw the gang from Chuck, but we’re doing that set on Tuesday so saw no reason to join the fray around them. Tomorrow is the last official day of panels. WOOOT. Then we have set visit day and it’s over. I’m ready. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. Ooh – I’m jealous! I love Battlestar. And yes, I want more deets on Caprica. *grins*

    Sorry you’re homesick, hon. Don’t forget to take care of you! Hey – on that note – my CP and I have appointments at this incredible Day Spa in SF. Want me to e-mail you the link?? I think you’d love it.

    Lisa

  2. Jamie Bamber is a fine specimen, isn’t he? He first came to my attention in the Hornblower movies with Ioan Gruffyd (I know I spelled that wrong….)

Leave a Reply

