Day Seven (Press Tour)

Standard

I have to say, a good way to start the day is to have breakfast with the cast of Prison Break. It’s not so tough gazing at Wentworth Miller and Dominic Purcell. I actually spent more time talking to producers Matt Olmstead and Zack Estrin to get the scoopage, but trust me I made time to get a good look at the cast. The show will be set in LA this season, and they’ll be breaking into something, rather than breaking out. That’s all I can tell you for now.

Next up was Nigel Lythgoe, Mary Murphy, Mia Michaels and Cat Deeley from So You Think You Can Dance. I happen to love that show, but I had to ask Mia why she was so mean. She said she isn’t that’s she’s just honest. (Cough) Kevin Reilly, the president of Fox Ent. did his thing and then we had the producers and cast from FRINGE. Loved it. I’ll say that right now. But many of my brethren didn’t get it. I’m not sure why, but I thought it was smart and interesting.

Lots of controversy with the crew from Fox News with Karl Rove, Chris Wallace, and Chris Wallace. Yawn. Next up was Jerry O’Connell and the cast from Do Not Disturb. That’s a new comedy set in a hotel. Um, probably ought to give that one another chance before I say anything. The cast of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles was up and I have to tell you I’m so excited about that show. Just one problem, the wouldn’t tell us anything about the new season. Made me kind of mad when asked and they didn’t say anything useful. Whatever.

During the coffee break we had a chance to talk to the cast from 24. The prequel looks cool. We saw a presentation and it was pretty awesome. Secret Millionaire is a new show about philanthropy. Then we had all of Fox’s animation shows. Lots o’ fun.

The party tonight is Santa Monica Pier. Fox takes the place over and it should be fun. Once again I’ll try not to drool on Hugh Laurie. They have folks there from all the shows. Should be fun evening, but a late one, hence the reason I’m posting now.

Do you have a favorite fox show?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. Such tough duty. I don’t see how you possible survive it all. (grinning,
    ducking, doing a fast J-turn, and pouring on the afterburner before you hurt me.)

    Favorite Fox show? Firefly. (ahem)

    Of the crop that hasn’t been killed off, I admit to the thoroughly guilty pleasure of BONES.

  2. Fox show on the air? So You Think You Can Dance 100%, albeit, the news that SPOILER!!!!! (or not, it was on the wires on Salon today) Comfort was coming back because Jessica had to drop out due to injury really upset me today. Was this the end of the presentations? I can’t wait for Fringe, that and Dollhouse are the new shows I’m panting over.

    • I’ve only seen a presentation of Dollhouse but I’m doing a set visit next week. Very excited about that. Talked to Joss tonight at the pier. Very interesting show. I’ve got another week and half here. ABC, CBS and NBC, as well as the TCA Awards and a couple of set visit days. So busy times ahead. :-) Nigel talked a tiny bit about Jessica but would be specific about the injury. He said though that it would take three to five weeks to heal.

      Candy

  3. PRISON. BREAK! though actually Fox is probably my fave station for TV–House, PB, Terminator, even the cancelled K’Ville. And I totally have a girlcrush on Mia Michaels!

Leave a Reply

