Day Three (Press Tour)

Standard

Today began with the Discovery Channel’s new shows Whale Wars, Secrets of the Dinosaur Mummy, Into the Unknown with Josh Bernstein (hot explorer guy. just thought you should know), Planet Green’s Focus Earth with Bob Woodruff and one of my favorite sessions Battleground Earth: Ludacris vs Tommy Lee. I liked both of those guys way more than I thought I would. They were funny. There was some TLC, ESPN, Sundance skipping ahead to the real fun HBO.

It looks like they’re getting their crap together. The shows they presented were diverse, and so interesting. From the miniseries Generation Kill, to the Ricky Gervais Comedy Special. He made me snort Diet Coke through my nose again. That’s the second time that’s happened when we’ve been in the same room. Rory Kennedy is doing a docu on Helen Thomas, which looks fab. Then there were these really funny comedians, totally un PC, with a new show called Little Britain. A lot of folks know them from their UK series with the same name, but this was my first exposure. Crude but funny as hell.

Then of course, the highlight of the day… TRUE BLOOD. Thats the series based on the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. Friggin’ awesome show, and fantastic panel. I know there was a lot of controversy about the casting of the actors for that show, but Alan Ball (Six Feet Under) knows exactly what he’s doing. Trust me on this. It’s wild, sexy and sensual. And my favorite show of the new season. Period. I like a lot of others, but it’s my favorite.

So tomorrow begins with Turner. A lot of CNN election stuff which truthfully bores the hell out of me, but I’ll go because I’m curious. I mean, I’m excited about the election but I could, and my tv column readers, could care less about how it’s covered. Then there’s a session with Star Wars: Clone Wars from Cartoon Network. Then some dramas Leverage with Timothy Hutton, which I liked a lot. And Raising the Bar with Mark Paul Gosselaar. The second one is a lawyer show and I just couldn’t get it into it, but if you like that sort of thing… Frank Caliendo will be here.

AND EWAN MCGREGOR. Been in love with the guy since he sang “Your Song” in Moulin Rouge. LOVE HIM. Dennis Hopper, Don Cheadle, Carson Kreesly, Shirley MacLaine, Swoosie Kurts, Valerie Bertinelli, Kyra Sedgwick, Christian Kane, Robert Gossett, Holly Hunter, Monica Potter, Bill Engvall, Tim Meadows and Tony Curtis, along with a bunch of other folks will be here tomorrow.

If you have questions, post them here and I’ll try to get answers. :-)

And let me know your plans for the weekend.

And what music are you listening to. May I recommend Natasha Bedingfield’s Pocketful of Sunshine CD. Love it!

At night, I’m working on new proposals. One will be for a new Bronwyn book, keep your fingers crossed!

-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. I loved Josh Bernstein when he hosted History Channel’s Digging for the Truth.

    I’d love to see True Blood but I can barely afford my satellite as it is. No way can I add HBO to the mix. *sigh*

  2. weekend plans!

    walk into town, picking up, have ocmpany coming around 2pm Sat. DC United game Sat night. farmers market and car show on Sunday. Lots of work to do.

Leave a Reply

