Day Two Press Tour

Standard

Today began with the cast and exec producer from Mad Men. Friggin’ awesome. I’m telling you, you need to watch this show. It’s one of those where you need to give it four episodes and then BAM you are hooked for life and can’t wait to see what Matt Weiner (exec. producer/creator) comes up with next.

There were a lot celebs doing reality shows. One of the standouts for me was Margaret Cho, who had her parents on stage with her. THey are so funny together. I’ll probably watch that one when it debuts in August on VH1. Jamie Foxx was looking hot, hot, hot. Have you ever taken a good look at that man’s arms. Wowser! He was promoting his show From Gs to Gents, which is about turning ganstas into gentleman. It has potential. Then it was on to NGEO where we had explorers, including Buzz Aldrin. The folks from Dogtown were here and they had one of Michael Vick’s dogs they rehabilitated. I honestly have a hard time watching these show because I can’t imagine someone being so cruel to animals. Just hurts my heart. But these people at this shelter are doing great work. Then we were on to the History Channel where they’re doing something on Einstein. Looks pretty cool. And they also have a new series on SandHogs, who are these guys in NYC who dig tunnels. Dangerous, scary but pretty cool. The last panel was Benjamin Bratt and his crew from The Cleaner. I liked this show, and I want to see more episodes.

Coming up tomorrow we have Discovery Channel firs thing. Lots of cool adventure stuff. Ludacris will be there with Tommy Lee for their new show Battleground earth. And reporter Bob Woodruff will be doing his thing. Elvis Costello will be herewith his new show on Sundance, as well as a whole lot off people, except Spike Lee, who I don’t know.

BUT the big fun for me is talking to Alan Ball and the gang for True Blood. That’s the one based on Charlaine Harris’ books. Ricky Gervais will be here, and he always makes me laugh so hard I can’t breathe. He better be funny. Rory Kennedy will be here. I’ve always wanted to name a character Rory, but worry it’s too Gilmore Girls. Not that I would mind that, I just don’t want people thinking I’m copying. ;-)

I know this all sounds glamorous and fun, and it is. BUT I’m having one of those weeks where nothing goes right in finances, relationships everything. I don’t know whats up with the stars (the heavenly ones, not hollywood) but some planets need to shift before I go insane. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. It sounds like your having a good time.Make sure you take some Candy Time,a walk on the beach is always calming for me.:)

    Hugs, Danette

  2. Live it up!

    Reminds me I have to call and make sure I paid my bills, the finances part. Tell your husband you love him and you will be back in a few weeks. If you REALLY need I will send Stephen down to babysit all three guys:-) Or is the young one still off singing and that leaves 2 (or are his relationsips the most worrisome?) Your mom sounded good on the phone today. Forgetful of some things but strong about others.

Leave a Reply

