It’s My Birthday!

Standard

I’ve already received the two best presents ever for my b-day. My kindle and last night I went to see WANTED. OMG, new favorite movie evah! Seriously loved it. I’m going to give it an A and it’s been years since I’ve done that. LOVED IT! It’s going into the all-time favorites with Mary Poppins.

If you guys are interested my bud NYT’s author Gena Showalter is teaching a class this weekend on my Write_Workshop loop. You can get to that thru my website http://www.candacehavens.com.

I’m spending a good portion of the day with my friends food, fun, frivolity. I’m so ready.

Tell me what you guys have going on this weekend?

What are you reading? I’m reading the Maggie Shayne anthology Weddings from Hell.

What are you listening to? I’m hooked on Duffy. Very raw sound but I love her, especially that song Warwick Ave.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

14 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! Many more! You know the drill.

    This being the weekend nearest my own birthday, I’ll be sliding a little bit of celebration in amongst the usual weekend GottaDos. Crablegs and lobster in there somewhere, and maybe going to Homely Despot to pick out paint and floor tile for my bathroom. Depends on the weather and my aging frame.

    Reading: contracts and organizational stuff. Nothing fun.

    Listening to: Mabon. Celtic fusion with a sense of humor.

  2. First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    I am going to Flordia this weekend. I can’t wait. I have like 5 books I am taking with me and one of them is Gena Showalter’s. I am listening to the Ministry of Magic right now. lol. I know I have problems, but I love it. I hope you have an awesome day!

  3. Happy Birthday!
    Reading – “Automatic Detective” A Lee Martinez
    Listening to – “Divine Evil” Nora Roberts (I’m an audio-book nerd, and I usually only listen to music when writing, but I have nothing new to report music-wise)
    This weekend – house cleaning, gardening, cooking for the in-laws, and grabbing a few hours to write

  4. Happy Birthday!

    I’m so jealous. I really want a Kindle. My anniversary is Monday, so I am hoping that I will be surprised with one.

    I really don’t have anything real going on this weekend. I am going out to the local dog track tonight because they are giving away a car, so I am sitting around waiting to see if my magic number gets pulled. Other than that, my garden needs some serious attention which I will give it over the weekend.

    I have books all over the place that I am reading. I just finished Something Blue by Emily Griffin, Real Vampires Get Lucky by Gerry Barlet, The Julius House by Charlaine Harris, and Odd Hours by Dean Koontz. I am still reading Derek’s Bane by Mary Janice Davidson, and The Snow Queen by Mercedes Lackey. I will probably be done with both of these by tomorrow morning, so I need so more. Any suggestions?

    As far as what I am listening too, I am 1/2 watching / listening to the series ‘Moonlight’ as I work.

  5. My weekend is crazy. Party at my house tomorrow (you can come if you like, 6ish). It’s a going away party for Jerry Davis, who I’m sure you’ve met at cons. Sunday, I’m going to see Serenity at the Movie Studio Grill with friends, and then I’m going to another friend’s birthday party for her one year old. :-) Overloaded, but should be fun.

    Delilah

    PS Happy Birthday!! :-D

  6. i just finished reading “50 ways to hex your lover” by linda wisdom. cute book. fun.

    i have a wedding to go to tomorrow. i need to pluck my eyebrows before the wedding. i have two hairy little catepillars above my eyes.

    and i have been listening to.. hmm.. i have the new cold play album – viva la vida. i am not sure it is out yet. but the ad agency i work for gets lots of advanced copies of cds.

    oh, happy birthday by the way! gosh i am such a dork sometimes.

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY CANDY!!!

    Saturday I always work. After work we are going to celebrate our friend’s birthday. We will probably go to a great steak restaurant. You have a rockin time Candy!

    Right now I am reading a Vicki Lewis Thompson book, THE NERD WHO LOVED ME. Which is fantastic!

    What am I listening to right now? Gosh, I just play the radio anymore. Haven’t bought a CD in a long time. I have never downloaded any music either. I am behind times.

    Michele L.

  8. Happy Birthday, first and foremost! I’m telling you I’m trying to convince everyone I know to get a Kindle, I got one as a holiday present, and I had to wait almost 3 months for it to arrive. So far I’ve read almost 100 books on it, and it’s great for my house, since I have NO bookshelf space left at all. I just read the Morganville Vampire series that Rachel Caine wrote this week. There’s only one flaw, the third book isn’t available on the Kindle, but all the rest are available.

    I’m planning on doing nothing but reading this weekend and relaxing, because this was my only week of summer break. I start school again on Monday. Ah the joys of the mature student.

  9. Howdy!

    I totally blanked and thought your b-day was today or next weekend! Now I do know why you have been on my mind perhaps. I do know your age thought since you are 10 years older than me, so it is not THAT big of a birthday. Silly husband. 5 more years for that. That movie is now in the Netflix cue based on your saying so. Stephen was quite excited as I read the blog to him and it was cues up before I finished reading. I am a fan of (sp?) Lincoln Park, some band I cannot recall that sings a song re Handle Bars, and another local-ish band that gets around Carbon Leaf. I have liked Carbon Leaf for a while now.

    As for things I think you may be interested in: I bought a nice handbag. Monsac. Purty. (and at a steep discount to boot!) It is soft. It smells nice. Even Stephen says so.

    Going back and forth on coming this summer. Started thinking if I show up Grandma might think I know something she does not.

    we had no water and then a boil advisory for several days but now have water again. That was exciting. I decided I do like the beach and swiming in pools again, and walking at the zoo. OH, and the panda may be pregnant again. We will know in about 6 weeks. Pandas are prone to false pregnancies, and at a birthweight of 4 oz, nothing on the ultrasound is the norm pregnancy or not.

    Becky is hanging with her beau more and more.

    Other than that, nothing too big on the DC report.

    Our weekend is all about supporting local business, in particular those forced to close due to no water. We already had reservations Sunday night in DC at a new belgium place, but otherwise we have:
    Friday: latte breakfast, Thai lunch, Italian dinner.

    Saturday: Latte breakfast, [drycleaning, shopped for new slacks and doormats, while Stephen mowed and painted the door trim], Saltena and BBQ sandwich lunch, [shopped for new running shoes, attended gelato shop reopening in historic renovated tavern, grocery shopping while Stephen did other house hold stuff then upon my return washed my car. He apparently can be bought with a child’s chocolate gelato and a cookie.] local Ale house dinner (followed by fireflies on the back deck).

    Sunday: Latte breakfast, farmers market shopping, Belgium in Olney brunch, Beligum in DC dinner. I also will bake on Sunday and prep enchiladas for my pregnant coworker low in iron and needing to gain weight. Stephen is psyched to see whole eggs and butter in the house.

  10. Happy Birthday Candy!

    I’m terribly Jealous! I am dying to see WANTED!!!! I love the concept and the director is so brilliant….Hope you have a beautiful birthday! I miss you!

    ~Jax

Leave a Reply

