Saturday

Standard

Hey Gang!
I’m kind of excited because I just ordered my birthday/anniversary present from my husband. :-) He knows. Our 24th anniv. is Monday. I know, I can’t believe we’ve been together that long either. Freaks me out some days. And my birthday is coming up on the 20th. So I combined them, and bought a Kindle. I’ve been wanting one for some time. It was that or an iPhone, and I decided to wait on that as everyone I know has had some kind of trouble with the new phones. :-)

I’m feeling mucho bettero, ‘cept still have trouble catching my breath. I gave myself a few days off from the book, but am getting back to it beginning today with revisions. My page proofs for The Demon King also came in so I’ll be busy with both the next few weeks.

I want to know what you guys are up to, and what you’ve been reading. I’m going to order 10 new books once my Kindle gets here and I want suggestions.

Also, are you taking a summer vacation? Where are you going?

And if you’re on the west coast… What train is it that you take from L.A. to San Fran? Is it Amtrak? Trying to figure out if I want to fly, drive or take a train when I’m out there. Suggestions?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. CJ Lyons LIFELINES. That’s the only thing I’ve read lately–*very* good stuff!
    My boss got a Kindle for Xmas and loves it but for a few minor things. It’s nifty but I’m leaning toward the Sony (damn me for saying it too).

    NO vacations….not with the price of gas. I’m not even doing RWA this year–not when I could have new countertops, new stove and microwave instead. Not that I can but you know what i mean :)

  2. Up to much the same thing you are. Celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary on the 16th (a mindblowing number to us both), and my birthday on the 23rd. I’ve also been celebrating a couple of short story sales to tasty anthologies.

    My reading has been all over the map. Just finished SMALL FAVORS, Jim Butcher’s latest Dresden Files novel, and the second of Tanya Huff’s SHADOW AND…” series. Hubby’s catching up on Wm. Mark Simmon’s HALF-DEAD series and enjoying it.

    As for vacation…what means this word “vacation”?

  3. My summer vacation this year will be my honeymoon! =) We’re going to Disneyworld for 5 days and Islamorada for 3. It’s in August and I can’t wait!!!
    And happy anniversary!

  4. vacation

    Back to thinking about the beach and the sweet 8 yr old smile! she better be sweet:-)

    Your elder son said he may come see us in DC for vacation so I need to transmit him weekend ideas.

    I have several CA buddies and will ask their opinions. The train is Amtrak. do you need SF, oakland, what part of the SF region? Heck, I will come out dependign on timing :-) We keep saying we are going to go on a brewery and or winery tour either in Napa, OR, or WA. But that is usually an October trip for us.

    So I am going to Ocean City, maybe back to DFW, I want to go elsewhere but I think work for Stephen and perhaps myself will intervene. I am working in Denver for a week so Stephen is vacationing in that area. I refuse to call it vacation with 7am-9pm days.

    I have two books I read for work that are kind of interesting. My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor. Gets a bit too much at the end, but it is interesting in general. Rethinking Thin by Gina Kolata is somewhat still true and is about one of our studies. Lots of magazines. I have had some eye trouble so reading is down.

    Happy anniversary:-) What are you doing for 25? Special trip? Plan now!

    • Re: vacation

      My friends say DRIVE if you have the time. Or train. If you do not have the time then fly. If you drive then Pacific Coast Highway, spending some time in Santa Barbara and Monterey. If you want SF haunts let me know. Stephen and I both have lots of friends there and who lived their recently. Cowgirl Creamery is yum (cheese). Lots of other things, too.

  5. Vacations

    Ron and I are driving to SF this year. We are planning on taking lots of little side trips out and back so this will be vacation this year. I suppose I can’t complain too much since hubby sent me to NY for a week or so to see my son and since I took my mom (for her birthday) and my best friend we just made it a big ‘ol party. He has made plans for next years anniversary (our 5th.) From what I understand we are going to Paris in the early spring and Rome in late spring but before it gets to hot. I have been wanting to try the Kindle so let us all know how it is. Yes, I have had major problemos with my IPhone. I liked my Blackberry but it is easier to get my stuff ( ie. maps, music etc.) on IPhone.

    Happy Anniversary,Have Fun

    Kim Campbell

Leave a Reply

