I am alive

Standard

Contrary to all the gossip, I’m alive and doing well. :-) I did spend a day at the emergency room yesterday and phrases like congestive heart failure and blood clots were bandied about. Scaring the crap out of me and my poor children. ;-) In the end it was a bronchial infection my tubes were closing up making it tough to breathe. I won’t bore you with the details but the panic began when the doctors (my doc, and the he sent me to Emg. room) found out I’d been traveling and then they saw that I was retaining an inordinate amount of water and I had all these crazy bruises on my leg. (Have I mentioned lately I’m clutz? I told them that, but they still had to check it out.)

Anyhoo, except for still having a little trouble catching my breath, for which they gave me medicine, all is good.

Okay… so on Sunday I finished the first draft of Dude, Where’s My Dragon. Woot. Now it’s on to revision.

And I wanted to tell you guys about the trip to NYC, but before I do that… Any of you who live in North Texas with lawyer connections can you email me off of here at tvscoop@sbcglobal.net. A friend, and no he’s not related to me, need to fight a ticket. He’s new to the area and I told him I’d help if I could.

On to NYC… You know about my son from the last release. Those were some intense but incredibly fulfilling days. He proved that he could take it to the next level when necessary. He’s looking at several colleges and they are looking at him. Some of the tops on the list so far are Pepperdine, TCU, Boston Conservatory, Julliard and three others that I cannot think of right now. He had a chance to meet with representatives from all of the schools in NYC so that was cool.

I think I might have mentioned that we saw Young Frankenstein on Broadway. I cannot recommend it enough. I haven’t laughed that hard before in my life. In fact one of my favorite Parker moments, other than him becoming one of the top 10 vocalists in the country (had to stick that in), was him doubled over in the seat laughing so hard at the show, and he did it a lot. My friend Shannon Canard was with us and she enjoyed it too. It’s one of those shows I’d see again and again.

I was trying to be careful on my diet so I stayed away from a lot of the sweets, but we still had some great meals at La Traviata and a great sushi place, Nanatori, in Brooklyn. We were staying at the Brooklyn Brdige Marriott and it was amazing. The rooms had been redone and the service was wonderful. (There was some construction going on above us, but that wasn’t bad until the last day). We did a lot of shopping that last day and Parker managed to make two H & M runs. That really is a cool store.

Today is the last day of school for Parker, and he’s more than excited than you can imagine. Next up, he has to get ready for his trip to Europe.

So tell me what gives you joy these days. Something that compares to that last day of school. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Howdy from DC!

    Crazy women in my family all getting sickly! Glad you are not with CHF although horrible as it sounds you can live a long time with that if diagnosed and handeled correctly. My joy is thinking about going to hte beach middle end of this week. My niece arrives Monday night and we head to the beach Wednesday after work! WOOHOO!

    Except I need a swimsuit.

    OH, and while leaving for a business trip this week my purse broke. I get to Chicago and see huge Nordies across a big intersection from my hotel. It is dark and I am wondering how much walking I should do. I get in and ask the front desk where to go for a new purse, and she says, try Marshalls around back first….and I SCORED. 30% the normal price for a bag I am quite happy with. One I probably would have bought at full price at Nordstrom. Although I would have bought much more at Nordstrom I bet, too. So joy for me = dreams of soon to be beach + frozen custard + fries with salt and vinegar and new Monsac. It even smells pretty. and Stephen even said so once I got home.

    Oh, and getting on earlier flights for free on standby gives me joy, too.

Leave a Reply

