Quick Note

Standard

Hey Gang…

Two quick notes. One here’s a link (http://ck2skwipsandkritiques.com/crystal/likeacharm_crystal.html) to a great review of Like A Charm. I love these people, and they made my week. Made me sound way smarter than I am. :-)

Also, please stop by the witchychicks blog (http://witchychicks.blogspot.com/) where we are doing a round robin fairy tale. Mine goes up tomorrow morning. :-)

I’ll be in NYC until next Wed., but will try to blog while I’m there. Tell me what you’re doing, watching, reading… Any new news?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. That is a near perfect description of Like a Charm! I disagree that it made you sound way smarter than you are. While I do not know you personally, I think it outlined your story well while giving you, well deserved, praise. I read Like a Charm in one sitting and then read it again the next day just in case I missed anything.

    As for me, reading – Currently a stack of UPS reports that completely unimaginative and full of problems. I am playing editor to this stack. For fun a little Mary Janice Davidson about Fred the Mermaid that I never read when it first came out as well as a young adult book that was recommended to me about an enchanted chocolate pot. Interesting. I’m sure you didn’t really want to know all that but I am avoiding this stack of UPS reports as long as I possibly can.

    • Thanks!

      Thanks Candice and Majgie_moon for the positive strokes on my review of Like A Charm. I just started writing reviews for Kwips this year though I have been doing professional ones for Library Journal for about 4 years.. but that is on boring pop psychology books mostly. I prefer fun fiction :-). It meant so much to me that I was encouraging to you, Candice, since I am such a fan and can’t fathom you ever being less than totally confident that your books are the greatest. :-) I just love it when I am able to help someone else find a great new book/author, or when I can remind said author how much they are appreciated.. and to write FASTER. LOL.

      I didn’t mention in my Kwips review, but I AM a professional academic librarian by day. That is probably why I was so impressed by the way you captured the ideal essence of libraries as a portal of all knowledge.. and of course embraced your concept of the librarian as a super-heroine. Tee Hee. I just love fantasy.

      Have a great day. I’m looking forward to your next book. You ARE going to have Kira come back again, aren’t you???? I SOO want to know what happens next in the library. (drumming fingers impatiently and sighing.)

      Crystal
      Reviewer for CK2S Kwips and Kritiques

  2. I haven’t really been doing a whole lot of anything. I have been watching my favorite shows on TV, reading, listening to music, etc. I just read D.J. MacHale’s new book, Raven Rise. It was pretty amazing. Umm…I will be watching the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy tonight and watching my niece. I have the next two days off from work which is like heaven. I can’t contain my excitement. I will probably curl up in my bed and read my memoir of Julie Andrews. I hope your having fun in NYC!

  3. Well…

    I’m reading Testing Miss Toogood by Stella Cameron and I’m watching Bones and Eurovision Song Contest.

    Minna

  4. Hi, Candy!

    I’ve been revising and writing like crazy and getting ready to query and pitch. You are speaking at West Houston in June, and I am one jazzed fan!!! Can’t wait! You have been one of my best inspirations–I wrote my second YA in fast draft form when I first joined your yahoo group in fall 2006. Ten days! Wow! It taught me so much. One day, I will revise it (maybe in fast revision, eh?) Back to work for me–yep, writing on a Friday night! LOVE IT!!! Have a great and safe Memorial Day weekend!Enjoy NYC!
    Hugs, Nancy Kay Bowden

  5. Thanks!

    Just finished “Charmed and Dangerous” last night. Thanks for writing Bronwyn’s story, I’ve really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

