Crazy Days

Standard

I had a great weekend in Austin at the Nebulas. I met so many amazing people. Seriously kind and generous and so smart and funny. I laughed a lot, and learned even more. I was a little ashamed that I didn’t know more of the authors, there were some very popular folks there that I’d never heard of and I realized I needed to open up my reading world a little more. I’ve been doing that the last few years, but I need to do it more.

I came home ready to write. Tired, but ready to write.

I wasn’t around much last week because I was working on copy edits. Nothing too tough, just time consuming along with everything else that’s been going on. I’ll send those off on Tuesday, and then I’m hardcore jumping into my dragon book. Also going to see Iron man and a couple of other films this week. I’m looking forward to Iron Man. I pray it doesn’t suck. :-)

So I miss you guys. Tell me what you did this weekend. What are you reading? I’m digging into Kressly Cole’s A Hunger Like No Other. I lost the darn thing and found it when I was packing to go to Austin this weekend. Loving it!

How about movies? Seen any good ones?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. i was supposed to go out on a date this weekend. and damned if i didn’t make myself look really really good. and he stood me up. bastard. so then i did what any woman scorned does.. i went shopping. i bought a new digital camera. its faboo. its pink. i heart it.

    meanwhile i am reading “spies lies and naked thighs” by jina bacarr. its full of smut, but then again most books i read have a large quantity of smut. lol :).

    when can i expect the demon king and i? every time i go into borders i look for it hoping its there but its not… *sigh*

  2. I read A Hunger Like No Other right after the Dallas conference and I absolutely loved it! The next book is Wicked Deeds on a Winters Night. Love that one too! In fact, I liked it better than the first. She’s definately an author that is going on my automatic buy list. :O)

    Dawn McClure

  3. So great to meet you at the Nebulas!!

    Just finished Like a Charm. Loved it! Really fabulous. I want that library job… Anyway, I hope to see you again at a future event. I had so much fun hanging out with you.

    Best,
    Sarah

  4. I went to Costume Con in San Jose and had buckets of fun in the dealers room buying jewelry. I also played hooky on Saturday and toured a bit of Berkeley where I had never been.

    I also finished reading Murder Under the Loon, a mystery which takes place in the colds of Minnesota – uffda!

  5. can I second what Sarah Beth Durst said? great to meet you at the nebulas! actually, your whole crowd was a real inspiration to me–all so productive and talented. My already-full-to-overflowing reading list has just about doubled.

    hope to meet you again in the not-too-distant future, and of course on-line.

    cheers,

    e wein

    • Sarah and Elizabeth! I was just thinking about you guys. You both made it a fun weekend. Hard to believe that was just a week ago. Time flies. :-) Both of you keep in touch!

      Candy

  6. Right now I’m reading Embrace the Night by Karen Chance. I’m about halfway through, and it’s really good! I was at the grocery store today and they have this thing called Redbox where you can rent a DVD for $1, so I decided to get The Messengers. I’m feeling in the mood for a scary movie this weekend. Hope you enjoyed Iron Man!

Leave a Reply

