Fun

Standard

Okay, so it was another working weekend at the Dreamin’ in Dallas conference but OMG, I haven’t had that much fun in a really long time. I mean I laughed so hard last night and for so long, that my stomach hurts. The culprits, Gena Showalter (genashowalter.com), Jill Monroe (jillmonroe.com) and new friend Kresley Cole (www.kresleycole.com). I wish I could tell you what happened, but I can’t. Most of it’s top secret stuff (for reals). If I talk about it, I’ll receive death threats. I’ve been warned. But it was fun. Been a long time since I’ve just cut loose. I need to do that more often. And yes I did actually attend the conference, participated and learned a few things. One thing I needed to remember. The writing is all that matters when it comes to this business. :-)

I came home today, (after a quick stop at Ruby’s to buy a new pair of reefs (red leather ones), and a peace sign necklace and matching earrings. I needed them. Really. I did.) Took a nap and then sat down to work. I feel better than I have in a long, long time and the words are there. I promised myself if I was good and wrote a certain amount of pages then I could read. I also came home with a ton of new books to read. I participated in the charity booksigning on Friday night. (Sold out. Whew! I love it when that happens). I’m hoping they made a ton of money for the cause.

So what have you guys been doing? What are you reading? When I’m done with my pages tonight I’m pulling out Kresley’s A Hunger Like No Other. Gena says it rocks. It won a friggin’ RITA, it should rock. :-) I adore Kresley and her sense of humor, so if any of that is in her books I’m going to love them.

And Gena, Jill and Kresley, if you’re reading this… Same Ship, different day. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. It was so great to reconnect with you!!!

    I came away with a new motto – If you can’t dazzle them with your brilliance, baffle them with your ship

  2. Right now I am reading text books. lol School is kicking my butt but I only have a total of 15 more days and I am out for the summer. :D I am totally glad someone is having fun. lol

    p.s.
    I got your bookplate! Thanks for sending it!

  3. I’m green-eyed, you got to spend the weekend with awesome authors. I’m waiting for Kresley’s and Gena’s upcoming releases.

    I just finished reading Michelle Rowan’s Fanged and Fabulous, it is great, Michelle’s books are hilarious. I’m still deciding what to read next.I’m going to CA tomorroww,my little sister’s wedding is this weekend.

    Hugs, Danette

Leave a Reply

