Day Three MidSouthCon

Standard

For a weekend that started with a Klingnon, a pirate and sailor, it hasn’t been that bad. :-) I had a blast with the folks in Memphis. But man, they wore my butt out today. :-) Started with breakfast with a great group of folks. Let’s see… I did a new media panel. No one showed up at first, but as folks trickled in, it turned out to be a lot of fun. I was on my soapbox about, if you want to be a writer, sit your butt and the chair and do it, then submit. You know how I can be. :-) I’m pretty sure I scared half the people in the room.

Then it was lunch with the volunteers and other GOH’s. Much fun sitting between Len W. and Selina R. She’s what Yard Dog Press is all about and she makes me laugh – alot. I wanted to mug Len Wein for his shirt, which had the Super Friends on the back. He makes me laugh too. No wonder he’s a Comic book God.

The Joss Whedon panel was well attended and lots of opinions in that room. From what I gathered, we all think Joss has had enough time away from television. It’s time for him to come back with some coolness. There was the world’s longest closing ceremony (I only say this cuz it was nap time and I was really, really sleepy. Still didn’t get my nap and it’s past 9.) :-)

They took us out to the Three Pigs for BBQ. Very good stuff. But the best part was when Kat backed into the pole protecting the sign at the Three Pigs in Charlie’s van. I’ve since dubbed her Pole Kat (She’s been the most incredible liaison for me this weekend), and the name has stuck. We made a quick trip to B&N for Bob and his wife to get some books on Tenn. They didn’t carry my books. And I was tired and didn’t say anything. The guy did tell me the B&N at the mall had them, so I figure as long as the are in Memphis, it’s all good.

Came back to the hotel for a short stop into the Dead Dog party. But I couldn’t stay long. I’m so friggin’ sleepy and now I have to pack. Where the heck am I going to put all this art I bought? Oh, and the cutest T-shirts. Tell ya more about those later.

What the heck have you guys been doing? And why isn’t any one posting? Tell me what you did this weekend, and what you are reading….

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. I am miserably sick

    And I’ve spent the weekend sleeping, waking to cough and take antibiotics and then going back to sleep. Fever, headache, muscle spasms, and cough from hell.
    I am re reading some books by Karen Chance and whatever else I have laying around, no energy to hit the store and get anything.

  2. The Con sounds like loads of fun…

    I just finished Charmed and Deadly finally…haven’t felt much like reading last month or so…too tired…Like a Charm should be here any day for me…they are some of the few adult books I read anymore…usually stick to the teen stuff…(finished Geek High right before reading Charmed)…

  3. JOss

    I read that JOss is working on a new series *YEAH* and the guy that plays HELO on Battlestar Gallactica (DROOL) has been signed to play a cop (I think).

    I watched movies–no reading, very little writing, lots of coke and chocolate. *sigh*

  4. I’m very busy being jealous over your trip to Memphis. *g*

    Over the weekend I re-read Toni McGee Causey’s Bobbie Faye’s Very (very, very, very) Bad Day which is a riot. :)

  5. Glad you had a good time! Stephen’s grandma had a stroke last Thursday, so I spent my weekend driving 60 miles round trip to the hospital everyday. She is not great but alive and at least pleasant. No short term memory and lost her sight. They think some of her coordination will come back, though. This weekend we are going to Baltimore; Stephen planned a mini vacation for the weekend as soon as he saw it was Mariners-Orioles. A Mary Kay convention also is in town, and it is sleeting + pouring down rain (with thunderstorms Friday night) so it could be interesting. But we will have fun:-)

  6. Reading

    First of all I wanted to say that I received the bookplate and bookmarks, thank you! If you come to Spokane Wa I will be there with all my Bronwynn books and my Kira book, love them all~

    Im reading two books now, Im reading the Golden Compass…I didnt watch the movie but wanted to see what the hubbub is all about and Im about to read the 2nd book in the trilogy and Im also reading The Tim Gunn book on fashion, taste and style or something like that. I love him. **big deep sigh** oh how I sometimes wish I were a gay man!

Leave a Reply

