Wake up everybody!

Standard

Okay, so it’s almost 4 a.m. and I haven’t been to bed yet. Stupid steroid shot. Though, I have managed to get quite a bit done. Midnight I’m lying up there staring at the ceiling and I decide, might was well go down and print everything out for my trip to Memphis.

Try going back to sleep at 1, at 1:30, I remember that I need to write a new commercial for medifast, and to edit my stories. Throw some laundry in, pick up the kitchen, write a scene for my dragon story and several ideas for scenes. Then write some notes on a special book, that I can’t talk about. Sorry. Really I can’t. But it’s very cool. I can share the possible title… While I Slept, the Devil Came to Visit. Or The Devil Came to Visit While I Slept. Anyhoo. Then I pay bills (this is not a sleep inducing activity. FYI on that one.) I look at my stories again, since I’m obviously sleep deprived. Still don’t find mistakes, which means those will have to wait until I do get some shut-eye.

At 3:30 I take a long soaky bath. Then I think of more scenes for dragon book. Wonder if I should spray tan again before going to Memphis, wonder how the hell I’m going to get thru this day on the four hours of sleep I got Monday night cuz I couldn’t breathe. ;-) Wonder if Carly will get voted off of American Idol. If so may stop watching cuz that means America is stupid. There are two people left on that show who should not be there, and if they stay and she doesn’t, I may move to Ireland. (I know she lives in San Diego. But she’s Irish and we should show our support.) Then I wonder about the BIggest Loser. I was so proud of the chicks this week. They rocked. I wish I wasn’t so into that show, but it’s really inspirational for me. I feel bad about talking trash about the first couple of seasons.

I’d watch television, but I’m too antsy. So I figure I’ll fix the kids a good breakfast (Jeff’s gonna freak when he wakes up in a bit.) Do what work I can and wait for the rest of the world to WAKE UP! ;-)

So what do you do when you can’t sleep?

Or better yet, What do you do to get to sleep?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. Jeff surely did freak. I hope you got some rest!

    I listen to the radio; talk radio. Maybe TV over radio (I have one of those weather radios that will get the local broadcast audio). Never watch TV; the light and changes in light levels will not let you sleep well. WTOP here in DC knocks me out in bed. Down low but not too low. Sleep hygiene is a very important thing. Slowly lower light levels in your house throughout the evening. No caffeine within 5-12 hours of bed. Do not exercise near bed time. Keep a regular schedule regardless (when you wake and when you go to bed). Rest in bed with mindless reading (not a book you get wrapped up into, think car magazine or something like Elle or whatever with 1 page articles) you put down when your eyes droop. And you read with a low light on, not all lights on. Just barely enough to read, and not all in your eyes. Indirect light.

    But there are lots of sleep hygiene techniques. Most psychologists can discuss them in detail. They are the ones I found who learned them (why I am not sure).

  2. When I can’t go to sleep, I read or get on the internet and type in random things and see what pops up. It is quite amusing. :D

    I don’t think I ever get to sleep. lol

Leave a Reply

