It’s definitely Monday

Standard

Argh. So I was going along okay for a Monday. Was slammed with the flu this weekend, but I managed to muddle through the day and get things done. THEN I get this email from a listener. She’s furious that my books have so much sex and language. Sigh. She promises that she will make sure she tells all her friends what an awful person I am so that no one ever buys my books. :-( She was most upset because she bought the books for her 15-year-old daughter and didn’t look at the books first. You guys know I’m the first to admit my books aren’t for anyone under 21. I wish crap like this didn’t bother me, but it does. I know you can’t please everyone. Sigh.

Anyhoo…. So what are you guys up to this week? I keep forgetting to tell people I’m headed to Memphis for Midsouthcon this week. If you’re in that area and want to get together to chat shoot me an email at tvscoop@sbcglobal.net. I’ve never been to Memphis so I’m really looking forward to it. :-)

Okay… on the girly side… I found this purse in the Nordstrom catalog that I cannot live without. Well, that was until I paid bills. :-) Then I decided I could live without it until the book checks come in. :-) I’m also partial to the Ed Hardy glasses with the dragon on them. There’s just one problem: I can’t spend $250 on a pair of sunglasses. I can spend that much on a purse, but I’m so tough on glasses. And I LOSE them!

Would you spend that much on a pair of sunglasses? A pair of shoes? A purse? A dress? What’s the most extravagant thing you’ve bought yourself in the last year?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. Darn, I wish I could get down to Memphis to meet you! I miss being able to drive and having my own car. Actually, I miss my fun little Saturn with its sunroof more than I miss actually being able to drive. *g*

  2. Well, my buddy thinks you swear funny, not enough, and was thankful you finally had more sex in this last book although you barely described it. IMO anyone who buys romance books outside of the teen section for someone under 18 should just be yelling at themselves. Which she was. Just like my science fair parents. They yell at me but then realize the fault is theirs or their student’s most of the time.

    I had trouble spending $30 on sunglasses. Funny, I spend money on certain shoes, on clothes (yes, your dear cousin learned in Seattle and now has the Nordies anniversary sale on her calendar and even takes off work for it when it starts mid week), but I cannot stand to spend money on a good handbag. I am working on it. In the last year maybe it was the treadmill my hips no longer let me use. But before that was a GORGEOUS velvet coat. That I then barely wore but luckily wore a few times. Wore it to that TX choir practice thing a few Decembers ago. Now it will not fit. I swim in it which is a good thing but it was very spendy. I did not buy it at first sight. Told Stephen about it. He told me to buy it. Went back and they still had my size so I bought it to show him and he convinced me to keep it. I forget, but it was likely around $400-600. Then we were going someplace with dogs, but at work I wear a backpack, but but but. Then I thought screw it I am wearing it. but alas not soon enough.

    I know try to get my suits and jackets for a good price but really most of my better ones cost around $100. I have spent $300-500 on a good suit even though I rarely wear them. My shoes are typically $70-100 but if I can find what I like on sale I buy multiples. Still was hard just to spend 50 on a purse, though. I like many that are more expensive, though…….

    Probably my most extravagant purchase was the Hawaii trip, which actually gave me GI distress for a bit, but I got over it. I save, I donate, and I spend.

  3. Ok first of all I am with you on the book…I browse alot in the book store and when parents just blindly buy books for their children and not check them out. THAT is an ODF (own dang fault). LOL I was recently got a book that was a preteen/tween book and no offense I wouldn’t let my children(if I had any I have dogs lol) read that. I was like WTF this is not a teen book.
    And I just RECENTLY broke down and bought an expensive purse ok….it was expensive to me….$150 for a coach purse at the outlet.
    And I LOVE the Ed Hardy stuff but I am with you um hello $250 for sunglasses which if your like me…I break, lose or scratch. I honestly make them lol…well ok I buy a good but inexpensive pair and then like the Ed Hardy…I print on the computer a kewl print and adhere them to the glasses ( I am crafty mccrafty)…so that I get the same kewl glasses for like 1/4 of the cost.

      • Re: glasses

        It isn’t that hard…I do that alot with purses too I find a shape of a purse I like at the thrift store and totally redo the front and the inside..I like alot of different types of art (including comic book, etc) so I find something I like and put in on the front…t-shirts etc..pretty much whatever I see and think is kewl at the time…that is why I was like $150 for a coach purse but it was on sale from $700 so I didn’t feel so bad…and it was my work bonus lol…if you see a picture or something you like if you email it to me I can always try to see if I can make a pair for you.

Leave a Reply

