Ya know….

Standard

Hey Gang,
I’ve been trying to take a couple of days off to sort of get my bearings. Life was a little out of control, so since the kids are gone this week, I’ve been doing some regenerating. ;-)

Spa day yesterday with waxings, nails etc. Today I did spray tan. I’ve been eating right and reading a lot.

I’m telling you right now– Gena Showalter’s new series is going to pop like nobody’s business. It’s the Lords of the Underworld and begins with Darkest Night. I laughed. I cried, and I stayed up all night reading. I’m not kidding. I LOVE THESE BOOKS! BUT They should come with a damn warning. I’m serious. You cannot put them down. I was exhausted the next day. :-) The first book in the series comes out in May and YOU HAVE TO BUY IT!!!!

I also finally read Julie Kenner’s Demon’s are Forever. Loved it! Love this series. The book has been in a sack in the back of my car for months, and when I found it I sat down and devoured it.

Okay, now for a little serious biz. Most of you guys read my books. And you’ve probably noticed that things that are important to me empowerment of women, stopping child abuse, etc. end up in my books some how some way. One thing that was really bugging me two years ago when I wrote Charmed & Deadly, was what’s happening in the Congo. I just saw that HBO is doing something April 8, on what’s happening there and I’m grateful. I know the atrocities are tough for us to take, but we at least need to make people aware.

See, this is what makes me just a little bit crazy. One minute I can be talking about spray tans, the next atrocities around the globe. ;-) It’s what makes me me.

So I want to know a couple of things….

What causes are close to your heart?

What’s the nicest thing you’ve done for yourself in the last few weeks?

-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. Hmm some of them are little things, like having a baby changing station in a men’s room if there is one in the ladie’s room. When my young’un was little my dh would change the baby for me when we went out to eat. Well often he could not do so because there was no place to change him in the men’s room. Then, the ladies room would have one. How sexist and wrong is that?!

    As a mandated reporter I am concerned about abuse to children, adults and those with disabilities.
    But I think that hate crimes against people really torque me the most. That’s why I volunteer on our local Human Relations Hate Crimes Task Force and am active in Interfaith.

    The nicest thing I did for myself was get me a new puppy for my birthday. I wuv him! He’s in my hood in the icon.

  2. 1. Anything cancer related – my aunt, who was my best friend, died of lymphoma when I was 12, so causes like that mean a lot to me. Also, anything to do with the American Heart Association since my dad had quadruple bypass 7 years ago.

    2. Hmm… I actually don’t really do much for myself at all. But 2 weeks ago, I splurged and got my hair done. Cut, dyed and styled. I love the way it looks now :D

  3. The cause closest to my heart is spousal abuse. I’ve been through it and wish it on no one. We support a home for abused women. I also have taught (over and over again) my daughter the warning signs of an abuser. I think it’s worked but it’s made her a very picky dater.

    The nicest thing I’ve done for myself in the past few weeks has been taking a walk or two. I need to incorporate walks into more of my life. Exercise, you know.

  4. The cause that is closest to my heart is alcoholism. My uncle died a couple years ago from it. It always pains me to see people drinking and driving. I really hope that one day people can learn to get a DD.

    Now as for myself, I joined the gym. Yay me! I am sore as hell though cause I am so out of shape. Hopefully, that will change quickly!

  5. Please, help me, brothers!!!

    Hi, my friends! I want to get software pack XRUMER 5.0 PALLADIUM for free. Have you any download link???
    I’m so need this magic program! It’s can break captchas automatically! Activate accounts via email automatically too! Absolutely great software! Help me!
    And did you hear news – price for XRumer 5.0 Palladium will grow up to $540 after 15 may 2009… And XRumer 2.9 and 3.0 – too old versions, it’s cant break modern catpchas and cant break modern anti-bot protections. But XRumer 5.0 Palladium CAN!!!!
    So help me for download this great soft for free! Thanks!

  6. Классная игруха для телефона! Бомба!

    New Game for Mobile telephone [url=http://interkam-k.ru/1/1130.php]BattleZone 3D танковый симулятор для галакси мини[/url] Kachaite vashe 4etko

  7. Классная игруха для телефона! Бомба!

    New Game for Mobile telephone [url=http://crazy-efectiv.ru/1/1653.php]Jimm на телефон samsung 5250[/url] Kachaite vashe 4etko

Leave a Reply

