This is what I decided

Standard

Good news and interesting news. Good news is my editor approved my book I turned in, and the concept for the second one. Whew. I can breathe. They came up with such a beautiful cover for The Demon King and I, and I really didn’t want to disappoint with the words. :-) If you want a laugh… I gave the second book a temporary title (my editor always comes up with my titles for me.) Any hoo… for now I’m calling it– Drum roll please… Dude, Where’s My Dragon? No, no, it won’t really be called that, but it just makes me laugh.

In the interesting news… They are moving my mom to a nursing home tonight. I know, she’s way too young, but there’s no other choice. She has to be watched 24/7 and needs a great deal of medical care. And here’s the fun part — she’s going to be in the same room with my Grandma. (Snort.) Trust me, if you knew them you’d laugh. They are both incredible women, strong, stubborn, and just a little bit crazy these days. They are saying that mom’s problem is probably still drug related, though they are worried about possible damage from the meningitis. One minute she’s great, the next she’s telling me about a dormitory she stayed in last weekend at Columbia. (My cousin goes to school there, but mom’s never even been on the campus.) Today was my favorite. She made dad call me on the cell so she could tell me she was going to Australia with my Grandma. AND they’re going to swim with the blind sharks. I’m telling you she made it sound like the most logical thing in the world. She also mentioned that she was going to visit with the troops (You know our men and women of the armed forces are there keeping an eye on the dangerous situation with the Aussies. You never know when a surfer might go bad.), but she wouldn’t sing, because she didn’t want to offend anyone.

This is my world right now. :-)

So I decided when I woke up this morning that I was just going to be happy. No matter what happened. Gennell, you’re kind of to blame for this. Every time I start to feel sorry for my situation, I think about you. How hard you work and all you have on your plate, and how incredibly positive you and Chris are. So thanks. You are my inspiration these days. I believe people are put in your path for a reason… Even if you trip when you see them. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

Leave a Reply

