Holy Ravioli

Standard

Time has flown by the last few weeks. Crazy, crazy busy. Let’s see… San Antonio was awesome. Parker’s choir was incredible, directed by the guy who does the Mormon Tabernacle choir. Never heard anything like that from a bunch of high school kids.

Had a chance to meet Chris and Genell, fans of the book, and some awesome writers. They were so much fun and made the trip memorable.

Okay… skipping ahead to last weekend, because I honestly can’t remember last week… This past weekend I had a great time at the DFW Writer’s Workshop Conference. Great turnout, lots of great classes and people. My keynote went pretty well, and the food was good. Had a chance to hang out with my chicas, which totally made the weekend.

On Monday I interviewed Philippa Gregory, the author of “The Other Boleyn Girl.” She’s friggin’ awesome. Then on Tuesday I introduced her at an event at the Dallas Museum of Art. There were 400 people there, and Philippa is a wonderful speaker. She talked for awhile, took questions and then did a book signing. I live for the day I get to sign 400 books. I’m looking forward to feeling like my hand is about to fall off. :-)

For those of you on mom watch, she’s doing okay. She’s been a hallucinating a little, which has made life interesting for my dad. ;-0 But for the most part, she’s doing better.

Parker and I are headed to Austin tonight. He has an opera competition tomorrow. Think good thoughts for him, he’s really nervous and excited. :-)

Tell me what you’re reading and what you are doing this weekend?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

8 responses »

  1. right now i am reading “Succubus On Top” by Richelle Mead. Its good. I read her first novel, “Succubus Blues” and liked it, so this was a natural progression. This weekend I have a lot of projects to do – a minicase for my Finance class and a paper for my Marketing class, so I really don’t have much of a weekend. bleh!

  2. Science fair and trying to track down grandma :-) Two manuscripts to read, and an analysis I need to start working on in the next few minutes! Stephen has an upgraded firedrill, so he may need to work at least one day.

  3. I am reading Bloodfever by KMM and loving it!!!

    This weekend #1 needs his eyes examined and we both need glasses, then Marshalls for new shorts, and lunch out, a stop for vitamins and um crap something else I can’t remember AND Saturday PM at the Y to do some cardio.

    #2 son is staying Friday w/a friend. He has his first g’friend and he’s really irritating me bad. So is #1 who is lost/lonely/jealous of #2 brother’s new um distraction! LOL

  4. I’ve been attempting to read The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie, but without much luck. It’s not that the book isn’t good, cuz so far it’s hilarious, but I’m so distracted because I’m filming my first short film this weekend!

    Wish me luck!

  5. I just found “Charmed and Dangerous” and am loving it. I started this morning and am on page 130 — not doing so much else yet this weekend, although the laundry is calling.

    I’m getting ready to move to west Texas at the end of the month, so had to look you up “in person” after I saw the note about West Texas Divas in your Acknowledgments page. I’ll have to keep an eye on your writing workshops to see if there are any coming up near Midland/Odessa.

    Thanks for the fun book!

  6. Hi Candace,

    I am Priscilla, just added you as friends to my livejournal account. Well to answer you last question in this entry, I just read your book – Charmed & Dangerous which I borrowed from the library.

    I must say, the moment I read the first page, I got hooked onto it and never let go of the book till the very last page! I have to wake up early later for work but I feel that staying up from 1am to 4am was worth it!!

    I am so looking forward to reading Charmed & Ready! I did not managed to borrow that book, however, I’ve got my hands on Charmed & Deadly and this tortures me so much that I have the urge to go to the nearest bookstore near my workplace and purchase Charmed & Ready!

    Saturday had been fun for me! I went to an art market – MAAD which happens every first weekend of the month with my new filmmaker friend, Melanie. Got our portraits done and had delicious spaghetti from a Japanese placed called Waraku. Chilled out by the Singapore River, downing Hokkaido ice-cream before heading home and well, getting glued to your book!

    I am feeling very honored now to be able to leave a comment to an author who writes such smart and sexy story!

    Personally, I love reading books on witches and vampires and I really love your book!

    I cannot wait to watch the movie ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’! I am fascinated and drawn into the history of the Tudors. Prior to reading your book, I was actually reading ‘The Life of Elizabeth I’ by Alison Weir.

    I think I have talked too much here! I hope you have a great weekend and just can’t wait to get my hands on Charmed & Ready!

  7. I just read your last book this weekend. I followed that with “The Accidental Werewolf” and then some short stories from Mary Janice Davidson. I was sick. I read $45 worth of books in one day. I gotta get to the library.

    I never thought I would be buying book in the romance section but you guys have it goin on!

Leave a Reply

