Monday?

Standard

Mondays are always weird for me. The catching up with all the stuff I put off on Friday, and getting down to the business of writing. It takes me awhile to get situated. This morning, I’m just getting to my first column and it’s almost time for lunch. By the time I answer e-mails, set up interviews for the stories I’m working on, and take care of the calendar dates, well it’s almost time to take a break. :-)

I am doing things differently this year. I’m trying to cut out of work at a decent time. Helps that I work at home, I know, but I have a habit of sitting here for 16 hours a day, with only a lunch and dinner break. I’m forcing myself to get away from the computer and watch television, play rock band with the kids, or do something fun.

And excuse me while I fly my freak flag proudly, but I’m also making my usually junky workspace more fun. Yesterday I went and bought a Looney Tunes desk calendar to go under my key board. (I wish that was the only thing I bought. I really, really, need to stay away from Office Depot.) Every few days I deal with the piles on the desk and try to whittle them down. It helps me from feeling overwhelmed.

So tell me what you did this weekend, and how you are making your life a tiny bit better? Or tell something you think you should do to improve your quality of life. Oh, and did you watch Terminator last night? I love that show. It’s on tonight too, so don’t miss it.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. This weekend we worked on cleaning out the garage. We threw away a ton of empty boxes for computer stuff, etc, and old toys. Still not done but lots of progress made. Oh and this past week my daughter and I really organized the living room while the son and husband were out of town and got it neat. We’re keeping it that way, too.

  2. TERMINATOR ROCKED!!!!!!!

    I’m cleaning a little each day. Last night I cleaned out my broken nightstand, got it out of my room, threw bunch of stuff away and moved in a little table i wasn’t using to act as a new nightstand.

    Not only did I watch Terminator AND Prison Break I wrote.

Leave a Reply

