Hey…

Standard

What are ya’ll doin’ today? I’m feeling very southern for some reason. Don’t know why. :-) I think I’m still a little high on those cream puffs from yesterday. Did you eat your pastry of choice yet? Tell me about it. Did you pick up your new copy of CHARMED & DANGEROUS? I forgot to tell you guys that they did an excerpt of LIKE A CHARM in the back. It’s my first time to have something like that. :-)

Today I’ve been working on the next proposal for Berkley. It’s about the next Caruthers sisters story, and it involves dragons. Lots ‘o fun. I’m also revising the Zombie YA, and actually wrote some new scenes today.

So, um, as for the Christmas shopping. Presents for Candy: 3. Everyone else: 0. I know, I’m a horrible person. The presents were little. More Christmas CD’s. I found the Mindy Smith “My Holiday,” and of course while I was there I had to pick up Martina McBride and Sarah Maclachlan’s new ones. ;-) I mean, can you really buy just one CD? It’s not natural.

I’ve also been watching tons of movies in order to vote for the BFCA on Friday. Argh. There are so many good films from this year. Last night I re-watched “In the Valley of Elah” with Charlize Theron and Tommy Lee Jones, “Lars and the Real Girl” with Ryan Gosling, “Juno” and “The Kite Runner.” All of them are great films. I especially love Juno. That film is so unexpected. Oh, and I saw the “Golden Compass” over the weekend. Fun fantasy film, I wish the people who started all the talk about that film had actually seen it. And I saw “Charlie Wilson’s War,” another great one.

So did you eat your pastry, and where do you stand with your shopping? What holiday films are looking to see?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. I had a plan for today. Originally it was work from home then meet a coworker at her house to bust out a paper we are working on (very very cool stuff). Then I had to miss a meeting Tuesday to go to PT. They were kind enough (super duper thanks not) to move the meeting to today, Wednesday. I get up this morning and it is snowing. 1st real snow of the season. I leave my house. After more than an hour I have gone, eh, not 6 miles? Try to turn around. Eventually I can do so safely. Then I have to deal with all the blocking of the box at major intersections. Eventually get home in time to call in for the meeting. Hard to concentrate on a meeting when at home without any documents with you and they are pointing at things on paper. For 2 hours.

    Canceled the meeting with my coworker after she went sliding trying to buy more paper for her printer.

    So I did work from home and realized I really need to go grocery shopping.

    BUT a box of goodies showed up today. No pastry yesterday but I had 2 truffles and a pretzel chocolate thing today. yum.

    Wish me luck tomorrow! Everything will ice over now that the roads are treated and I have physical therapy at….7am Thursday!

    • oops, shopping! I am almost done. Need a present for my nephew and sister in laws. One SIL I know the idea of what I want (dutch oven, but a smallish not super expensive one) but not the brand, the other I don’t have a good concrete item that is easily shipped but I have an idea. Oh, Becky gave me ideas so I need to do something for her. Hey, once the fudge and cookies go out I consider myself done! I have just been shopping for plane tickets!

      • I have a Bethesda, MD Charmed and Dangerous book update! 5 copies at the Barnes and Nobel; 5 copies at the Border’s Express in Montgomery Mall in their paperbacks under $8 section right by the door (and yours was at a nice eye level). None at Target.

  2. I’m almost done with my shopping,I’ve got to check my list again though.

    I want to see Fred Clause, I love comedy and Vince Vaughn cracks me up.

    Hugs, Danette

  3. shopping and pastry eating

    Yum! I love pastries! Especially the flaky ones!
    I have half of my presents bought. I still have a ways to go. I love to shop for presents. I try to do theme presents for the special people in my life.

    As for holiday films, I don’t watch them much because I am usually so busy at this time of year. I do like the half hour specials like “A Charlie Brown Christmas” and Rudolph.

    Michele L.

Leave a Reply

