AHHHHHHHHH

Standard

Okay, so I turned in the Demon King and I on Thursday. Whew! My brain still hurts. I left early Friday morning to go with Parker to the next round of all-state auditions. I know it’s crazy, but I kind of like being a chaparone, except there’s a lot of sitting around and waiting at the competitions. Parker made it to the next round, third chair. He said he totally bombed. From his sightreading scores I believe him. Lucky for him, he had an amazing voice. I promise I’m not the only one who says so. We have soooo many talented kids in that choir. Of the 17 who make it to this round 10 are moving on. How cool is that?

I leave in an hour to go to Albuquerque to do a set visit on Breaking Bad. It’s a new series that’s about a chemistry teacher who finds out he’s dying of lung cancer. He’s broke so he opens a traveling meth lab, so he can leave his family some funds. I know how it sounds, but it’s a cool show. Funny and kind of inspirational in a dark skeezy kind of way. LOL. Skeezy and Inspirational seldom go together but when you see it in Jan. you’ll understand. So, I’m gone till Tuesday.

Then I come back and all my stories are due and then the next day is Thanksgiving. Sigh. My jeans are already tight. (That always happens when I’m finishing a book.) I may have to fast. Ha. Like that’s going to happen.

All of this is my very long way of telling you I’m busy. That’s why I haven’t been around much. But once I get thru Thanksgiving…. I’m going to breathe. I swear I am. :-) I say that knowing that I revisions due to another publisher on Dec. 15, as well as proposals to Berkley that same day. But those are worries for another day.

Tell me what you guys are doing and what your plans are for Thanksgiving…

I’m so grateful my sister-in-law is taking care of everything and she lives just around the corner. On Friday I’ll be at Lonestar Santas. I’ll be out at Grapevine Malls from 7 am to ? I love starting my Christmas holidays this way. Even though I have to get up early.

So tell me your plans!

Happy Thanksgiving

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Happy Thanksgiving babe! My sister spends the day with friends, and while I took the week off, I have done some work. Not as much as many would like, though. Not as much baking as planed. The tins will be lean this year. Waiting on good weather for the fudge and date nut loaf making.

    We go to Stephen’s grandma’s. She cannot cook anymore, though, so we all make things. I have a pumpkin pie (just out of the oven), pecan pie (about to make it), and the normal veggies (cranberry sauce – done but my berries never did really pop; salad – bought; fruit- bought; roasted vegetables; steamed vegetables). Normal means not in jello, cream, or cheese sauce.

    Back to baking. I need to get in the swing of it! We leave Friday (too early for me; I want to shop, bake, and watch UT-A&M) for the VT-UVa game.

  2. are you in town?

    orrin and I are on our way home from roseberg about two-thirty we would love to take you to dinner our treat do you want to meet somewhere in mt shasta? my cell is 916-505-3932

    • Re: are you in town?

      So sorry I missed you guys. I was there last week on the 19th and 20th. It was just a two day thing for a set visit so it was kind of fast and furious. I do hope to get out that way again. I really liked Albq!

Leave a Reply

