The Great Escape

Standard

What a crazy week. My brain is tired. But it isn’t over yet. I’m still in Revisions with the new book, The Demon King and I, I love that title. I just want the book to live up to it. I’ve been a bit overloaded with the day job, and other work-related projects. I’m looking forward to the book signing tomorrow. It’ll be a nice break.

So I’m a bit wistful tonight. Had an offer to go to the movies, but, well, sitting on the couch just seems better. :-) And though I hate to share my extreme dorkiness with you, I’m going to anyway. I was watching the first part of Goblet of Fire for the 300th time. And it made me think, I want to live at Hogwarts. All that magic… Hell, I’d go for those fab feasts they have at every meal.

I was chatting with a friend that I’d like to live over a bookstore, one that I own. That way, I could go down and hangout in the bookstore, another place I love. You know that book store Meg Ryan had in You’ve Got Mail, only maybe a little bigger. And it would need to have a small coffee shop so I’d have fraps and ready made sandwiches. Oh, and coffee cake. And it should be in Maine in some quaint town.

Where do you escape to when the world seems a bit much? Or where would you like to go? Real or imagined, tell me your great escape.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Books

    Books are my great escape and they always have been. With them I can go anywhere, be anyone, do anything.
    It was great meeting you yesterday at B&N! I hope you’re able to come back to RRRW some time.

  2. I think I found your place last week. Bethel, Maine. It is the bookstore on Main Street. Stayed at the Sudbery Inn and it was delightful. The Inn’s restaurant is good, too, and written about in magazines and stuff, but if you go downstairs the soups and other food at the pub (Suds Pub)were wonderful.

Leave a Reply

