Surgery and TV

Standard

I had my surgery yesterday. They took a cancerous tumor about the size of my thumb out of my forehead. I know have two and half inches of sutures going from my eyebrows to my hairline. Hello Frankenstein’s girlfriend. :-) I see rock star bangs in my very near future. Doc says, it’s going to heel to a very thin scar, I believe him, but it’s going to take several months. The good news is, they got it all, which is all that really matters. I’ll deal with the vain cosmetic stuff later. :-) Anyhoo… I’m feeling okay. Kind of feels like someone hit me in the head with a hammer, and I have two black eyes, but I’m good. :-)

So on to the TV stuff… A few days ago I talked about all the new shows I liked. I think I forgot a couple. Gossip Girls is going to be my new guilty pleasure. And I’m going to watch the second episodes of Dirty Sexy Money and Carpoolers today. Both weren’t perfect pilots, but they had potential.

As for some of the returning series… I watched the first two episodes of House, and I’m hooked again. Okay, yes, I have a Hugh Laurie crush. But I wanted to see how they handled the fact that everyone on his staff either quit or was fired at the end of last season. Very cool how they handle it all.

I don’t watch Bones all the time, but the first episode also has me hooked. They’re doing one of those arcs of a secret society of serial killers. Kind of cool. The first episode of Ugly Betty was the same old kind of stuff the first 20 minutes and then it was rockin.’ I know I saw more, but I think when they made the hole yesterday part of my brain fell out. :-) I could have sworn they sent me the first episode of Heroes, but maybe it was a hallucination. I’m going to hunt for it a little bit later.

I apologize for all the typos. I can’t wear my reading glasses because of the swelling. :-) (Get out those violins.) But then I’m never very careful about that stuff on here, so you probably won’t notice a difference.

Today I want to know the name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend. My first boyfriend that I can remember was Michael Slocum in the second grade. He used to pull my hair a lot. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. Hey sweetie. *hugs* Take your medicine and get rest.

    My first boyfriend was named Steve. He held my hand while we skated the couples skate at the roller rink. I think that was the entire duration of our relationship.

  2. My mom had the same exact procedure except hers was right in her hairline not her forhead. And she didn’t look like Frankenstein. They wrapped her head in gause and she looked like the mummy! LOL Glad you’re well though.

    Truthfully, my first boyfriend is the one I still have. I didn’t go on a real date until I was 22 and 5 years later I’m still stuck with him LOL He’s the best.

  3. oh my goodness! i hope you have a speedy recovery.

    and it’s sad for me to say that i don’t remember the name of my first grade school boyfriend. but my first real boyfriend was named blaine. what kind of name is blaine? it’s not one of those sexy call out in the throes of passion names. its one of those country club “tennis anyone?” names. bleh.

  4. Hugs hon! I didn’t know you were having surgery but I feel your pain!

    His name was Jack *shuddergagshudder*

    Speaking of Guilty Pleasures I’ve caught the last four or five episodes of Rock of Love (I htink it’s VH 1) with Brett Michaels and hotties in a house. It’s sick, it’s disgusting, it’s it’s a trainwreck I can’t stop watching *sigh* I’m hooked–thank Goodness it’s almost over!

  5. Yikes! Glad to hear the surgery went well, and you sound as if you’re in wonderful spirits – here’s to a speedy recovery!

    As for first boyfriends, the first guy I ever kissed was named Bret; we were in ninth grade. We went out for sandwiches, and then my Dad picked us up. Bret kissed me behind the restaurant, and I walked out to the car, *certain* that I must look different, and that my Dad would know and say something. Either I looked the same, or my Dad was a pretty cool guy. Or maybe both :-)

  6. ((Hugs))It’s good to hear your doing well.*g*

    My first boyfriend was named Rudy. I think I was in elementary and he
    always tried to talk in my face.lol.
    Hugs, Danette

Leave a Reply

