It’s Thursday!

Standard

Can you believe the week is almost over? Thank goodness. I’ve been busy working on Sanguine Dreams, so that’s why I haven’t posted much this last week. I know I said this before, but I really love the hero in this book. :-)

That said, there are some days when a writer gets out of bed and says, “Why am I putting myself through this? Writing is so hard sometimes.” Then you open up your email and someone says, “I don’t read much but my Mom told me about your books and I can’t put them down. Please write faster.” And you rediscover the joy of writing. That happened to me this morning. And those few words actually have put it all in perspective for me.

The page proofs for Like A Charm have come in. I love the font they are using and how they did the book entries before each chapter. It looks great. Okay, the funny thing is… I read the first few pages and I was like, “Did I write this?” I honestly don’t remember how I come up with stuff sometimes. Makes me laugh.

So what are you guys doing this week? Weekend plans? I’m flying in and out of Tulsa on Saturday to teach a class.

And what’s the one thing that brings you instant joy?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. Last weekend we went Wine tasting… there are 30+ wineries close to where we live here in Wa. We visited 3 last weekend, that we have never visit before.

    So we probably are going to visit couple more sometime next week.

    I agree with the person that wrote you that email — Write faster — :)

    –CM

  2. What brings me instant joy

    Instant joy is when one of my daughters – both adults go out of their way to do something nice for me and put their arms around me.
    Tomorrow I have to go pick up a dresser my oldest cannot get to her place she is moving to – she took it when she was 19 so now returning it. Sept. 18th, I am having an ankle fused and will be in hospital 3 days. It is hurting me so tonight because my sister is causing trouble because my daughter is moving far away. It cannot be the right thing to do since her husband wants a divorce. They sit in judgement of her and I am the one hurting. They called her and are trying to take her away from me. They can’t but they’ve tried before.

  3. What brings me instant joy

    Instant joy is when one of my daughters – both adults go out of their way to do something nice for me and put their arms around me.
    Tomorrow I have to go pick up a dresser my oldest cannot get to her place she is moving to – she took it when she was 19 so now returning it. Sept. 18th, I am having an ankle fused and will be in hospital 3 days. It is hurting me so tonight because my sister is causing trouble because my daughter is moving far away. It cannot be the right thing to do since her husband wants a divorce. They sit in judgement of her and I am the one hurting. They called her and are trying to take her away from me. They can’t but they’ve tried before.
    Jane Squires – jrs362@hotmail.com

  4. The minute a Mets game starts. I can’t help it. I love my Mets baseball.
    The first hug I get when my boyfriend comes over.
    Watching my ferret and doggie do their crazy little dances.

Leave a Reply

