It’s Almost Here

Standard

I’m actually looking forward to the weekend. I don’t know why, other than celebrating my son’s b-day and some book stuff there’s not much going on. I plan on sitting in the corner of the couch and working on Sanguine Dreams. That’s the first book in the Caruthers’ Sisters series. I like the heroine, Gillian, because she’s much better behaved than me. She comes from money, and even though she’s kind, there’s a regalness about her. She’s also super smart. (It’s tough to fake that part, let me tell you.) And the hero… I’ve actually had a few dreams about him. He’s that hot.

I just finished Austenland, by Shannon Hale, and loved it. At one point I thought it might be predictable, but it never was. Great fun. Now I’m delving into Patricia Briggs Bloodbound. I love her books.

So do you guys have plans this weekend? Anyone traveling?

I’m curious about a bunch of things today. Yes, I know these are weird questions, but there’s a method to my madness!

How do you like your toast? (I like mine just warm enough to melt butter. I have to remember to tell you my tragic toaster story some day.)

If you had the choice between a cream puff, a chocolate filled donut, cheesecake or chocolate cake, which would you choose?

Can you tell what I’m craving? At least I can have the toast. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. I like my toast, crunchy with a softer center topped with lots of real sweat sream butter. (Or sprinkled lightly w/ sugar and cinnamon)

    I’d choose the chocolate cake, we hae this cake called Dream Cake, it’s a light chocolate cake w/ whipcream filling and frosting an dchocolate shavings all around it.Yum.

    Hugs,Danette

  2. How about a chocolate cheese cake filled with cream–covers them all :-)

    Have a great weekend :-)

    Denise McDonald
    (cannot for the life of me remember my live-journal login)

  3. Mm I like my toast golden brown, and it has to be hot enough to melt the butter, and be warm when I eat it. Cold toast is yucky.

    Vanilla bean cheesecake with home made whipped cream! Oh! With chocolate and caramel sauce! And maybe some chocolate shaving for good measure.

  4. People traveled to us. We had a party to watch the UVa season opener and a friend came from Richmond and 2 others + baby came from PA. Others from the area, too. Stephen might head to Summit Point, WV Monday for the races.

    I like good whole wheat toast that is hot. I forgo the butter these days, although I do adore it. Warmish (so it will melt) good butter that melts on contact with the toast. No butter should be visible, just gold. I do sometimes use peanut or cashew butter, though.

    choice depends on the chocolate filled donut and the chocolate cake. I can think of versions not worth eating, and versions I adore. That would determine the choice. I can make some great chocolate cakes, not donuts, though.

    If you have a hand mixer and remind me I will make you mini cheesecakes when I am in town next. I have a good recipe and when they are that small you do not notice the low fat. They are also simpler than any other cheesecake I ever made. 39 calories, 2g fat, 5g carb, and 1g protein each. Not sure if it works in your plan, though.

Leave a Reply

