Time Flies

Standard

Life has been a whirlwind. :-) Crazy. A few days ago I taught a creative writing workshop with my pals Rosemary and Shannon. We had a blast. Today, Rosemary taught a class using method acting to write. (She has a cool name for it, but my brain is tired and I can’t think of it.) :-) Afterward, we made a quick stop by A.Lee Martinez’s book signing. I picked up all the September fashion magazine. I know it’s tough for people who aren’t into it to understand, but this is my favorite time of year. I love the clothes, I love buying school supplies. I love sitting and looking through magazines so thick I can barely lift them at all the new season’s offerings. It sends my imagination into overdrive.

Also picked up books by Marianne Mancusi, Annette Blair, Julie Kenner, Liz Maverick and Eve Silver. Yes, my book budget is blown. ;-)

So what are you guys doing this weekend? I have to do a little more school clothes shopping, but I plan to rest as much as possible. Still a but under the weather, and I’m determined to take better care of myself.

Tell me what you’re doing, what your reading and your favorite snack… I’m stuck on Life cereal. I love it when it’s soggy. ;-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve been reading up a storm! I am totally in love with this Monere series by Sunny. These were so delicious! And I just finished this great detective book called Stealing the Dragon by Tim Maleeny that features female ninja assassins and very funny detictive name Cape Weathers.

  2. A. Lee Martinez? I loved “Gil’s All Fright Diner” :-)

    Today we went to the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire. Tomorrow I am going to sleep! So tired! Right now, I’m reading the sequel to “Touch the Dark” called “Chained by Shadow” by Karen Chance. It’s a series about Vampires and clairvoyants and I’m too tired for my brain to work properly to explain it. LOL But “Touch the Dark” wasn’t too bad. I just finished “Hood” by Stephen Lawhead – the first book in a trilogy. It’s a different take on the Robin Hood tale. It was so good and I can’t wait for book 2 next month.

  3. i know hou you feel about those september fashion mags! at work we get them all complementary (work for an ad agency). so i have in style, elle, and w at my desk. i subscribe to glamour and i always buy cosmo. so i too have them all. it’s sad!

    btw i finished charmed and deadly. loved it. i wish i had more books to read but i am really poor until my student loan refund check arrives. then i am going to walk down to borders and buy a zillion books (and completely procrastinate and not read my economics or marketing)!

  4. I’m on a murder mystery binge. Right now I’m reading Jeff Abbott’s Promises of Home. Favorite snack? Chips & salsa. I may not have been born there but I’m a true daughter of the Southwest. :)

Leave a Reply

