Monday?

Standard

How did that happen? It’s Monday. Ack. How was your weekend? We had an interesting one around here. I woke up with a nasty bug on Friday morning, missed the trip to Austin, which was a huge bummer. By late Saturday evening I was feeling much, much better. I organized the upstairs and put all the books back on the shelves. You guys would be so proud, I weaned out four boxes of books, from the 10 I had up there. My husband didn’t think I could do it.

I’ve also been doing laundry, trying to catch up. I’m not sure what my children have been wearing since everything they own was in there. Yes, they’re supposed to do their own, but I can’t stand it when the piles get to high.

Yesterday, I sat on the couch most of the day and wrote. I started working on Sanguine Dreams, the first in the Caruthers Sisters series. I did research, wrote some pages and I’m really excited about telling this story.

I also listened to my husband cuss at the toilet for 11 hours straight. Poor guy. he’s just not very handy. He finally gave up and went back to Home Depot this morning. He’s getting ready to give it the first flush so keep your fingers crossed. I keep begging him to let me call a plumber to do the upstairs one. :-) I don’t think my nerves can take him doing any more home improvements.

So tell me what you did this weekend.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. got home from SLC around 2am. fun, nice, and lots of business. and work to catch up on here. and a car that needs a mechanic (or maybe 10 days at the airport was not good for it) and an oven (ok, 2) that are not working, and and…..it will be busy this week courtesy of the weekend plus Stephen may be in LA starting this Friday? ah, so much fun!

    I did finish the book!

  2. Movie

    Went to see the Bourne movie and had to take a Gravol afterwards! LOL

    Best movie I’ve seen in a long, long time.

    Nancy

  3. Friday – I realized Charmed & Deadly was available so I order it.. I though I had pre-order it.. Oh well.

    Saturday – my house was full — my hubby was celebrating Lammas — (note to self need to re-read Lammas Night) with his “group”– I help with the cooking and then entertaining all the non-“group” guest spouse/partners etc. Food was good, wine was great…

    Sunday – after party clean up and laundry, played with my daughter– watch movies, made breakfast and lunch with her. Later in the afternoon I had to stop by the office to decorate a co-workers office who’s birthday was yesterday —

    Charmed & deadly arrived yesterday. So late last night I started reading it — until 1AM — I’m half way through it :) couldn’t put it down.
    Well the book has to wait until tonight as I have tons of work to do… And it is Tuesday night Pub-Quiz night at a local British Pub in Wa. Love tuesdays, my mom baby-sits my 7 year old– My father in-law, my hubby, some friends and I meet at the pub for Pub-quiz and Fish & chips( oh the have some yummy food — incredible for British food, but not chicken fried steak :))

    well back to work.

    CM

  4. I realize the week is almost over, but last weekend I bought a new desk for my room. I have worked at home all summer and my old desk just wasn’t cutting it. My arm was going numb. It was not conducive to proper posture while typing, nor was it the right height. Now I have a lovely desk with a hutch in my room.

    The small corner of my bedroom has officially been converted to “office space.” Filing cabinet, shelving for CPU, back-up drive, and printer. I can’t quite make myself hang my dry-erase board on my pale blue wall though. So, it will stay propped next to the desk on the floor for the time being. It doesn’t really coordinate well with my framed diploma. One must make sacrifices…

    I flew to Washington, DC, on Monday. My sister joined me on this trip. It was really cool. My new boss, who I’ve known for about 7 years, was very understanding and kicked me out of the office each day. She even let me take leave yesterday morning so my sister and I could hit Arlinton National Cemetary before the heat index hit 130. 9am and we were drenched! We watched the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier(s). So much precision! I am always amazed at the timing of every step.

    Today, I helped bake and sell cookies at the high school to sell during Senior registration. Tomorrow – on a Friday even! – I have to work again. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

