Something Fishy

Standard

I feel like a grownup. I ordered fish for lunch. My youngest son made me. I don’t like fish that tastes like fish. But I like spicy tuna rolls and california rolls. (I know, I’m nuts.) My youngest suggested I try talapia or mahi, mahi, and he promised they weren’t very fishy. He was right. I liked the mahi, mahi best, and will be ordering that in the future. And it’s much healthier than a new york strip or a hamburger, which were my other options.

But I’m not so much a grownup that I don’t need naps. All I’ve done since I came home from L.A. is sleep, which was the plan. But usually if I take a four hour nap in the afternoon, I’m up all night. Not so, cupcake. Evidently my body needs to catch up. I did manage to finish Harry Potter last night, and I loved it. BUT I refuse to talk about it for another month until everyone has a chance to read it.

I just signed my contract for the Caruthers sisters book, so it’s very real. Also very real that it’s due Nov. 15, and I haven’t really dug into it yet. :-) Some of you have asked about it. I have to keep most of the details close to the vest right now, as it’s a very different kind of series, but basically it’s about four sisters who protect earth from other worlds. And these are very powerful chicks.

Okay, I’m off to finish some of the columns I’ve been working on today. I’ve actually been fairly productive. :-)

I want to know if you have a sister, and what’s your favorite thing about her? I never had a sister, but my girlfriends feel that close to me. :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. I have a sister. She’s two years younger and currently stationed at the US Embassy in Baghdad. We didn’t get along for a very long time. But one day I realized something very important…I can tell her anything. Yes, it took me 43 years to come to this conclusion and to realize that it’s always been there. I love her lots, don’t always like her, but know that she’s there for me no matter what. Just like I’ll always be there for her.

  2. I have a younger sister and I like just being able to bug her whenever I need her. She’s having her first baby in the fall,so she’s been doing most of the calling lately.*g*
    Hugs, Danette

  3. Aw… I wuv you, too, Candy.

    I always wanted a sister. Between Little Women and Pride and Prejudice, that was my dream. (Though maybe sisters that were less embarrassing that Kitty and Lydia in P&P.)

  4. I have two. One is 14 years older then me the other is 6 years older then me. Sadly, my oldest sister is a drunk and drug user. She was at one point brilliant. My sisters formed a rock band in the 60’s called She it was all women. My oldest played rhythm guitar and lead and did lead vocals, the other co-wrote the songs and played bass. The middle sister is my best friend but I have lost my oldest to drugs and alcohol much like so many of her era. It was a strange time the 60’s I was only 7 in 1967 and yet it changed my life. I have lead a bohemian lifestyle even now at 48 I have a hot pink streak in my blonde hair. If you care, you can find out about my sisters http://www.acerecord.co.uk/content.php?page_id=59&release=1490 the tend to make the past live for me in many ways. I was raised to believe in magic with boho parents and musician sisters. I started writing music at 8. the 60’s were a very powerful time from a spiritual perspective

  5. halibut

    those are good choices, though, and I am proud of your son!

    or try sashimi!

    I should talk about my sister. There are many things I adore about Beck. Hard to think of a single thing. Like asking why you love your husband. You can think of a few traits, and they just keep coming. Ask me after I have dinner with her on Friday night:-)

Leave a Reply

