I’m Home

Standard

You know what I realized today? Kind of like Dorothy, There’s no place like home. I’d rather be here than anywhere else in the world. I’m tired, but happy. I feel like I came home with some great interviews and story ideas, and I’m actually looking forward to working on my new book series.

It took me two and half hours to get thru the mail, and another hour to pay bills and balance the checkbook. I love my husband, but I wish he’d learn to write things down. :-)

I bought Harry Potter at the airport and I plan to read, read, read.

What are you guys doing this weekend?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. What is your new series going to be on? You have left us hanging in Charmed and Deadly.
    I am anxious to hear your thoughts on H.P. There were a couple things that bothered me in it and I don’t think it was her best book, I liked the Half Blood Prince, but all in all I liked it.
    We went to a concert in the park last night where my husband who had a day from hell bought a cigar and winded up getting sick from the smelly thing… how romantic…. :). Yep it was a hot time in the old town last night…. NOT.
    I just got through reading a new series by Jenna Black it is really good. So far there are only two books but a new one is due in Sept. Tonight is a veg night but tomorrow plan on going to church… I am a Christian and Pagan (weird I know but it was how I was raised) Then do what every girl with a southern upbringing does best on Sunday… drink sweet tea and make fried chicken…
    Tell me, I have been reading books in this genre for a while (hell they canceled Buffy and Angel so what’s a girl to do) I never much liked Anne Rice… way to serious for my taste, but I have been with your books, the Carpathians, dark hunters, and brotherhood… as well as Sookie the Southern Vampire Series and Kim Harris (Countless others) from the beginning… I think I have read everything in the area out there. I am not a big Anita Blake fan it is too much to keep up with. Seriously though, I have a question, (Blame in on genetics, I kid you not, my mom believed that we had Elf blood in us. Yep she honestly thought there was a fae in the wood pile. I was raised on this stuff.) In case your wondering, my mom was a tad eccentric but really fun any how; I can’t help but notice how the legends change at the will of the author. Yet, some things remain constant… As a writer, what do you look for when you want to venture away from legend? I guess what I am asking is… how much of this stuff do you believe in what you write about?
    I am a believer in good and evil as well as the energy that surrounds us. But, as an author, What do you think? Don’t worry, I am not a nut case I am a 50 year old woman with a family and government job. I sound paranoid I know but; if you googled my real name, I have more pages about me then your average joe. That is why I came to LJ in the first place. Sad but true, I believe in almost all the spirit realm beings. I know how paranoid but hey what can I say? I was raised in it. but my LJ alone gets over 2000 hits a day….Hiding in plane sight. I am not a crazed fan, just curious on what if any of the stuff that you write you actually believe? I ask only because I get a feeling from your books you may be like me and believe in this stuff too. I know I sound like a nutter but most superstition has a basis of truth in it. I would just like to know what you think?

  2. Spent 26+ hours getting to Salt Lake City, was late for my class, took the last half of it, walked about 10 miles a day and presented a paper. At lest that was the weekend in question. :-) This past weekend I was still in salt lake. about 2 hours ago my luggage caught up to me.

    Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon are quite pretty, BTW. finished #3 on the flights when I was on 0-4 hours of sleep and was afraid to work.

Leave a Reply

