THE LAST DAY

Standard

Okay, so the last two days have been ABC. It’s been so full, I haven’t had time to breathe. This is my last report from L.A. and it’s been a really wild three weeks.

Yesterday… The first show we did was Pushing Daisies. One of my favorite shows of the new season, maybe my absolute favorite. It’s about a guy who brings things back to life and solves murder cases. Then we had Women’s Murder Club, which is based on the James Patterson novels. Angie Harmon and a kick-ass group of chicks star in this one. It’s one of those I didn’t think I’d like, and I ended up loving. Caveman is the series with characters from the Geico commercials. They are are shooting a new pilot so too early to judge. I loved Cashmere Mafia with Lucy Liu, Frances O’Connor, Miranda Otto and Bonnie Somerville. It’s about women who are the top of their game, but their lives are mess. Carpoolers stars Jerry O’Connell, Faith Ford, Jerry Minor, Fred Gross, and it’s another I’ll have to wait and see on. Dirty Sexy Money stars Peter Krause and Natalie Zea, Oh and Jill Clayburth and Donald Sutherland. It’s kind of like the Royal Tanabaums, but with even more screwed up characters. Another one I’ll have to check out more episodes.

Today began with the gang from Nightline and I-Caught. Then ABC Family did a Greek and Kyle XY presentation. Darn good looking bunch of kids. Christina Applegate was here with Samantha Who. The gang from Men and Trees, another show I really like, was here. No one asked the elephant in the room question about Anne Heche and James Tupper’s affair. And honestly, I was kind of glad. Kate Walsh, Amy Brenneman, Tim Daly, Taye Diggs and the gang were here for “Private Practice.” That’s written by Shonda Rimes, who also does “Grey’s Anatomy.” It will air on Wednesday nights, and I can’t wait to see what they do with that. That Kate Walsh is one beautiful woman. Almost too perfect, and she makes fun of herself, which makes her charming too. The last session was Big Shots with Michael Vartan, Christopher Titus, Joshua Molina and Dylan McDermott. The writing is good on this one, but I’d watch for the hunk factor. The guys truly seemed to get along.

The party was wild tonight. The stars actually outnumbered the critics two to one. Many of my peers had already left to catch red-eyes home. I leave first thing tomorrow morning. I can’t wait. I have great plans to plant my exhausted bod in bed and read Harry Potter all weekend, but I doubt that’ll happen. :-)

Someone had asked about Lina Esco, who stars on Kane on CBS. I did see her and she’s beautiful.

Hugs
Have a great weekend

-Candy

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

Leave a Reply

